The Scottish Cafe & Restaurant

The Scottish National Gallery, The Mound, Edinburgh, United Kingdom, EH2 2EL
Restaurant info
Opening Information

MONDAY – SATURDAY
9am to 5pm
(Kitchen closes at 4.30pm)

THURSDAY
9am to 7pm
(Kitchen closes at 6.30pm)

SUNDAY
10am to 5pm
(Kitchen closes at 4.30pm)

Facilities
  • Disabled Access
  • Private Dining
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor Seating
  • Families and Children Welcome

About The Scottish Cafe & Restaurant

Hitlisted 2017/18 by The List Eating & Drinking Guide as well as Tiplisted for Afternoon Tea.

Award winning gallery cafe located within the Scottish National Gallery overlooking the beautiful Princes Street Gardens. Fresh seasonal Scottish produce using small local suppliers and growers.

Serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, high tea, Sunday roast and Sunday brunch.
Fantastic large terrace for al fresco dining in the summer months.

Available for private hire in the evenings

Afternoon Tea is served daily 15.00 - 16.15
High Tea is served Monday to Sunday 15.00 - 16.30

Cuisine: Scottish, Afternoon Tea, Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Dress Code: Casual
Price point:
£ £ £ £ £

Availability

Diners Review
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Sort By:
5 Stars:
331
4 Stars:
138
3 Stars:
50
2 Stars:
26
1 Star:
3
Visited On Thursday, 09 January 2020

Delicious food, wonderful venue

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 09 January 2020

Everything excellent

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 05 January 2020

Although I have frequently visited the Scottish Cafe & Restaurant, and Contini George Street, I only recently became a Contini Loyalty Card holder, so this was my first booking since acquiring my card. It was my birthday, so when I booked I mentioned that I was a card holder. What a treat the whole experience was! We were seated at a nice quiet table at the window and were immediately welcomed with a generous complimentary glass of Prosecco. Our waitress was lovely, and wished me a Happy Birthday, without our having mentioned it. The food we had was all really delicious, and the portions were hearty and filling, so when it came to desserts we were just too full to opt for any - despite the tempting choice. Instead, the waitress brought a lovely selection of little sweet treats for us, with "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate on the plate. This was a perfect end to a lovely meal, and I felt the whole experience had been really special. Thank you for a great lunch, and for spoiling me so much!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 03 January 2020

Slightly sophisticated (some might say pretentious) menu and presentation. Equally,interesting and fun.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 03 January 2020

Very disappointing on this occasion. Dunlop cheese tart good but there was an unattractive smear of sauce. Hake was dry and unappetising. Vegetarian chickpea dish almost inedible. Puddings were good as was service. Standards seemed to have dropped as have eaten there many times.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 03 January 2020

I used to love the fish and chips in this restaurant but now I would definitely not recommend it. The last time I was in this restaurant I had the nerve to ask for some tartare sauce and I was told in an extremely sarcastic way that there was tartare sauce in the beetroot mix. I was allowed to have mayonaisse. Trying this restaurant again the beetroot mix is still disgusting and the fish needs something moist to improve it. I was scared to ask for some mayonaisse again in case I pushed my luck.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 01 January 2020

We were a party of 4 adults and two children Fabulous menu and great Scottish produce. The food was excellent and for this reason I would return. However unfortunately the service was not as sharp as one would expect. The waitresses were very pleasant but rather slow, and could have done with someone with attention to detail to oversee what was going on. We were pretty much ignored once our order was in and I had to ask twice for children's menus - attracting the waiting staffs' attention was challenging. It also took over half an hour for the food to arrive which although beautifully & freshly prepared was a long time for two children to have to wait. Should it really have taken so long when our orders were simple and the restaurant had been barely half full when our order was taken?

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 29 December 2019

We booked lunch for 6 & ran late due to travel issues. The welcome we received was excellent; the food great & excellent value for money. It was all good but I would single out the attentive & charming staff who waited at table and who could not have done more for us. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys good, wholesome fare at a very reasonable price in the very heart of Edinburgh. David E Johnston

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 30 December 2019

Service a bit slow but very busy. £45 for what were basically 2 sandwiches, one side and 2 alcoholic drinks was a bit steep even for the centre of Edinburgh

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 30 December 2019

Staff friendly, service quite slow. Very poor quality vegetables and extremely minuscule portion - two tiny sprigs of broccoli, I think. Overcooked and rubbery, hard to tell what it was.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 30 December 2019

Love coming here as the food is delicious, the staff are welcoming and helpful, and the new decor is fab. Will be back again soon!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 27 December 2019

Dined at The Scottish Cafe for our Xmas lunch and the whole experience was lovely. Will be back soon for Afternoon Tea!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 23 December 2019

Our server Monika was excellent!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 20 December 2019

Lovely setting. Very stylish decor with comfortable booths. Great atmosphere and wonderful service. The food was delicious. Every mouthful divine. Would highly recommend this restaurant. The staff made a huge fuss of me as my husband told them it was my birthday. Thoroughly enjoyed my visit here.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 18 December 2019

Lovely food and service, would def recommend=)

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 18 December 2019

On booking we were told that we could only have the table for one hour. Our starters arrived very (to) quickly the we waited a very long time for main course-we were still eating when the hour was up. No time allowed for pudding. The fancy bread which we expected to come with starter arrived half way through the main course. The belly pork was very good though.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 18 December 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed lunch thanks

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 17 December 2019

Had a lovely afternoon tea whilst they had a choir signing Christmas Carols. We left feeling thoroughly festive! Can highly recommend!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 17 December 2019

A nice look light lunch and great coffee.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 16 December 2019

Lovely experience dining here with our family. Staff were so helpful and attentive. Food was delicious and it was a treat to be served by Carina who explained the old family recipe for Christmas pudding. We will be trying this recipe ourselves.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you so much!

Responded On Wednesday, 18 December 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 15 December 2019

Lovely

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 15 December 2019

Love the atmosphere, music and friendly service. Little niggles - had to ask for raspberries in the Raspberry Gin Spritz and charged for 2 drinks that we didn't have. They were refunded immediately when we noticed.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 14 December 2019

We received our main course before some had finished their starters, bread was not served till after starter was finished. The bread was asked for three times. The owner was extremely rude and screamed at us when we raised issue with the service. We were offered no compensation for the service or apology for being shouted at. To top it all we were told that tables of females were always problems. We will not be back or recommend this place to others which is a shame as the food was delicious.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

We are genuinely sorry that you are unhappy with your experience. I have discussed your table with all the team who looked after you, I myself was on duty and spoke to your table at least three times during your visit. The restaurant is extremely busy at this time of year and we have never compromised on any aspect of the quality we offer. All your guests commented on the food being delicious. We are sorry if the bread didn’t arrive at the time you felt it should have. You asked for a discount and we all felt this was unreasonable. At no point did any of the team scream at you. It is our experience that if we ever do have a complaint when we feel it is unwarranted and we give something for free we get a bad review none the less so the incentive to give anything for free, when we feel there has been no cause, isn’t there. I took the opportunity to merely pointed out that you had, as you say, enjoyed delicious food and had not mentioned that you had any issues until it came to paying. We have found this only ever happens with other large tables of all female guests. As a woman and as a champion of my team I felt compelled to share this. We wish you and your party all the very best at this very busy time of year. Health and happiness to all your families as this is only our best intentions. Carina

Responded On Wednesday, 18 December 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 14 December 2019

Loved being greeted by victor and the attention to allergies and intolerances, so very much appreciated!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 13 December 2019

My favourite place for lunch in central Edinburgh.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money