New Hall Hotel

New Hall Hotel, Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield (sat nav B76 1PH), United Kingdom, B76 1QX
Restaurant info
Opening Information

Breakfast:
7am - 9.30am Monday - Friday
8am - 10am Saturday, Sunday and bank holidays

Lunch: 12 noon - 2.30pm

Afternoon Tea:
Monday – Friday 2:30pm – 5pm
Saturday & Sunday 12:30pm – 5pm

Dinner: 7pm - 9.45pm

Facilities
  • Disabled Access
  • Private Dining
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor Seating
  • Families and Children Welcome
  • Gluten Free Available
Menus

About New Hall Hotel

or great food that is packed with flavour and reflective of the season, look no further than The Bridge. Our 2 AA Rosette restaurant serves a modern British menu of classic dishes, enhanced with a contemporary touch to bring out the best in the ingredients.
The Terrace Lounge and Bar, with stunning views across our grounds and moat, is a warm and inviting space which offers a place for guests to kick of their shoes and enjoy a light bite or refreshing beverage.
And with history around every corner, our medieval country house hotel offers a fitting setting to enjoy the time-honoured tradition of afternoon tea. Norton House Hotel

Cuisine: British, European
Dress Code: Smart Casual,Dressed for Dining
Price point:
£ £ £ £ £

Availability

Available Offers
This offer has price variations on different days. View full details.
Description
Available Dates
This reservation cannot be modified online. Please contact the restaurant directly to update this reservation.
Edit / Cancel Reservation
Diners Review
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Sort By:
5 Stars:
78
4 Stars:
30
3 Stars:
25
2 Stars:
8
1 Star:
5
Visited On Sunday, 10 November 2019

Beautiful surroundings, delicious meal and superb service. Thank You, we will be definitely be coming here again

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you Mrs Kubiak-bas, we can't wait to welcome you again! Charlotte Horler Operations Manager

Responded On Monday, 18 November 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 09 November 2019

Lovely staff. Fantastic food ! Small improvements could be....our seating was next to where the staff stand, I think this table could be changed. As there was a constant stream of staff in & out. Popping there heads through the door. Especially as it was my husband 50th birthday. Make customers aware of how much per person is included in there stay allowance Especially that drink are NOT included. We will definitely return! Disappointed there was no Sunday lunch option.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you Ms Kemp for your feedback, it will be shared with the team. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again. Charlotte Horler Operations Manager

Responded On Monday, 18 November 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 08 November 2019

A little disappointing from the last time -lots of new staff , when asked what the selection of cakes were the staff member didn’t know & had to get someone else explain .Scones were stone cold ( these are usually warm) . Just not the high standard I’ve come to expect ... may try elsewhere in future

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for your feedback Mrs Coxson, whilst it is disappointing to read, I appreciate the opportunity to improve. We hope to welcome you again, Charlotte Horler Operations Manager

Responded On Monday, 18 November 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 08 November 2019

Totally enjoyed my lunch with you.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you Mr Brown for your fabulous review, we look forward to welcoming you again! Charlotte Horler Operations Manager

Responded On Monday, 18 November 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 03 November 2019

Maybe i expect too much but I wanted this to be special and a little disappointed when we arrived that we had different crockery laid out on tue tables, 1 of which was very slanted and not level. I chose New Hall as it has a great reputation and a touch of class. I wanted this occasion to be perfect for my mother in laws 79th birthday. The room was beautiful and the general settings lovely. The staff did take note of my pre requests and dietary needs and came and checked which was great. We were all disappointed when 3 plates of finger sandwiches were placed on the table (we expected them to he on the 3 tiered tray) when there was 5 of us, not even a full sandwich each, where others had 2 to a table.and 2 plates. We did received 3 x tiered display with the cakes and the staff kindly placed the remaining cakes in a take away box. Although not busy we had to ask for replenishment drinks and had to wait over 15 minutes for these. So although the food was good, there was not enough sandwiches and their needs to be better service with the drinks and for attention to detail make sure all the cups are the same and when you bring out the drinks they are in the same pots.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you Ms Hay for your feedback, I will share this with the team so we can make improvements for the future. I do hope you'll join us again so we can welcome you back in the future. Charlotte Horler Operations Manager

Responded On Monday, 18 November 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 01 November 2019

We came to celebrate my birthday and had a wonderful time both the food and the atmosphere were great and the service from the staff was second to none. We will definitely be visiting again..

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you Mr Payne for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you again! Charlotte Horler Operations Manager

Responded On Monday, 18 November 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 25 October 2019

We were booked for afternoon tea at 2.30 last Friday, but had to wait some time before even receiving any tea or coffee. After 20 ish minutes, I politely asked when we might receive some food. A waiter came over and apologised for the delay, saying that everyone had arrived at the same time. We asked for the champagne, included in the afternoon tea, to be served in order to be able to drink it whilst waiting for the food. We received our sandwiches soon after this conversation, however, we hadn't even finished eating the sandwiches before the cake tray arrived - we felt a little rushed - a little ironic, having had to wait for food initially. However, both the sandwiches and cakes were delicious and we were compensated for the delay with a reduction in our bill, which I hadn't expected. I booked this afternoon tea in early September, and had particular time slots from which to choose, so am mystified why too many people arrived at the same time. Perhaps timings and sufficient waiting staff are areas that New Hall need to consider when providing afternoon tea. I would return for another afternoon tea as the food was delicious, but the service definitely needs to improve.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 26 October 2019

The offer we had provided good value so would like some more of these.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 25 October 2019

Lovely hotel. Great room. Service and food at dinner was really good. Service at breakfast was different and not to the same standard for some reason. Overall a really lovely experience. Was a shame about the service at breakfast.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 22 October 2019

Beautiful restaurant and very atmospheric. Tomahawk steak was blooming marvellous, but then, everyone at the table enjoyed every little morsel of our choices. Pleasant, friendly staff and excellent service helped make it an evening to remember

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 23 October 2019

Beautifully presented afternoon tea. Freshly prepared. A glass of champagne and chocolates thoughtfully presented at it was my husbands birthday.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 21 October 2019

I had the same champagne afternoon tea at their hotel in Malvern. I was hoping for the same service and lovely food but was very disappointed. Was a treat for my daughter’s birthday and we were not impressed. Very poor value for money

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 21 October 2019

The food was excellent and the staff brilliant.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 20 October 2019

Fabulous birthday meal

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 18 October 2019

Professional friendly and welcoming service, a real treat, thank you

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 18 October 2019

Another very enjoyable afternoon tea. Champagne cold, tea hot, food delicious, good atmosphere and excellent friendly service.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We hope to see you again in the near future. With kind regards Cliff Davies Front of House Manager

Responded On Sunday, 27 October 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 12 October 2019

The service was very disappointing compared to our last dining experience. It was very disjointed as we had about 3 people ask us the same thing after being seated, we had to ask for our glass of fizz which didn’t arrive until the very end of the afternoon tea when we had asked at the beginning- we had to ask again and all in all the afternoon tea wasn’t as nice as before.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Mrs Miller, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the Bridge restaurant here at New Hall Hotel & Spa. I am very disheartened to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience as much as your previous visits here. Please accept my apologies for the disjointed service that you had received being over attentive in one aspect and then lacking in the delivery of your champagne. We hope that this does not tarnish your view of the Bridge restaurant as you know previously that this is not our usual level of service. I do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. With kind regards Cliff Davies Front of House Manager

Responded On Sunday, 27 October 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 11 October 2019

Afternoon tea with champagne was lovely loads of cakes and sandwiches and champagne was really nice!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Miss Storer, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete our online guest feedback form following your recent visit to New Hall Hotel & Spa. We would personally like to thank you for your kind comments and are really genuinely delighted to see that our whole team helped to make your stay with us such a relaxing and memorable one. We are striving to deliver service above that expected and really deliver an experience that will be worth sharing positively with others known to you and also the wider audience. Thank you for choosing New Hall – we really do welcome your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Best regards and thank you again, Cliff J Davies Front of House Manager

Responded On Sunday, 27 October 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 10 October 2019

Having had afternoon tea at 2 other hand picked hotels Fawsley hall and ettington park this was the worst Sub standard food no problem with the service but no atmosphere and wouldn’t go back or recommend Fawsley hall was outstanding and ettington park very good New hall needs to look at the standard provided by these hotels to improve theirs

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Mr Green, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently at New Hall Hotel & Spa and also for taking the time to leave us with your feedback following your visit. I appreciate your comments as it allows me to monitor and improve our standards as we continue to develop. Please rest assured that the points you've raised will be addressed with the relevant manager's within the business so we can resolve these for the future. Thank you once again for your review, I do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future so you can experience the improvements first hand. With kind regards, Cliff Davies Front of House Manager

Responded On Sunday, 27 October 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 07 October 2019

A very enjoyable experience. The staff were very attentive and the food excellent.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Mrs Pickering, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete our online guest feedback form following your recent visit to New Hall Hotel & Spa. We would personally like to thank you for your kind comments and are really genuinely delighted to see that our whole team helped to make your stay with us such a relaxing and memorable one. We are striving to deliver service above that expected and really deliver an experience that will be worth sharing positively with others known to you and also the wider audience. Thank you for choosing New Hall – we really do welcome your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Best regards and thank you again, Cliff J Davies Front of House Manager

Responded On Sunday, 27 October 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 07 October 2019

Jordan was incredible. He couldn’t do enough for us and made us feel so special the day after our wedding. He’s a credit to the company.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Mr Watterson, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete our online guest feedback form following your recent visit to New Hall Hotel & Spa. We would personally like to thank you for your kind comments and are really genuinely delighted to see that our whole team helped to make your stay with us such a relaxing and memorable one. We are striving to deliver service above that expected and really deliver an experience that will be worth sharing positively with others known to you and also the wider audience. Thank you for choosing New Hall – we really do welcome your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Best regards and thank you again, Cliff J Davies Front of House Manager

Responded On Sunday, 27 October 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 06 October 2019

Lovely venue, food was ok but nothing special. Being afternoon tea i'd have liked it presented on traditional china as opposed to plain white plates. The tea pot & coffee pots where not very clean on the outside , being stainless steel they looked very grubby. The staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you. Having been to many places who do afternoon teas a return to Newhall will not be top of my list.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Mrs Bennett, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete our online guest feedback form following your recent visit to New Hall Hotel & Spa. We would personally like to thank you for your comments and scores as we are striving to deliver service above that expected and really deliver an experience that will be worth sharing positively with others known to you and also the wider audience. With this in mind we will be sharing your comments with the relative heads of department to communicate with their teams and to make any changes necessary. Thank you for choosing New Hall – we really do welcome your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Best regards and thank you again, Cliff Davies Front of House Manager

Responded On Sunday, 27 October 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 05 October 2019

Lovely afternoon tea

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Mrs Davies, we're very grateful and delighted you enjoyed your visit to New Hall! With kind regards, Charlotte Horler Operations Manager

Responded On Thursday, 17 October 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 05 October 2019

When we got there they hadn’t got our booking which was upsetting as we were celebrating our sons engagement but they put us at ease and made up a table for 6 of us. The food was lovely and the service was good too. I definitely would do it again.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for your lovely review Mrs Smith, I am pleased we managed to accommodate you promptly and you had a lovely experience with us for such special celebrations! Charlotte Horler Operations Manager

Responded On Wednesday, 16 October 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 05 October 2019

Very disappointing afternoon tea. Tasteless sandwiches and cakes were ok, lemon tart was nice. Scones average. Overall very poor and the table was not fully laid out, had to ask for the milk to be changed it had gone warm with being left on the table. Waiter moving tables and chairs around. I would have expected alot more from a 4* hotel

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

communicate with their teams and to make any changes necessary. Thank you for choosing New Hall – we really do welcome your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Best regards and thank you again, Cliff Davies Front of House Manager

Responded On Sunday, 27 October 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money