Monday - Closed
Tuesday - Closed
Wednesday - Friday 12:00 - 2:30pm Lunch 5:00-9:30pm
Saturday and Sunday 12:00pm - 9:30pm
About The Restaurant at The Woodpecker
Contemporary, Informal City Style dining in the historic town of Lanark.
We think you’ll be delighted by our spectacular food and surprised by how much of it we are able to source from the surrounding area, allowing us to have an ever changing menu of seasonal produce at sensible prices.
Led by head chef Ian Kerr our team have cooked for a host of famous diners including Janet Jackson, Mick Jagger and Oasis and worked across the globe with the likes of Heston Blumenthal and Marco Pierre White, yet you’ll find a warm, friendly and informal atmosphere with an emphasis on you having a great time enjoying fantastic food (and wine of course).
We look forward to welcoming you to The Restaurant at The Woodpecker.
Delicious Sunday roast , so full of flavour . Only complaint would like more veg on the plate .
Always had great food, great service in relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommend a visit.
Delicious food served by attentive, friendly team.
great food and wonderful friendly service
Quiet due to COVID but friendly attentive staff and excellent food.
Fantastic service & the food was delicious. Eggs Royale were a real treat. They were a bit low on drinks & coffee supplies but this was explained and the waitress could not have been more accommodating. We will be back again soon.
Service attentive however a little quick between courses. Atmosphere was quiet but the service staff did attend the table and open a conversation which was all very polite and did not intrude.. The restaurant was a little on the cold side so perhaps a few degrees increase in heat would help. Sunday roast was excellent as was the soup starter. At £45 for 2 x two course meals and 3 soft drinks was very good value.
I had roast beef and it was the most delicious meal imaginable! The flavours were amazing, the meat was tender and perfectly cooked and gravy, veg and Yorkies were divine. My plate wasn’t as hot as I liked but they sorted this and I couldn’t have enjoyed it more. My husband had the burger and he says it was the best he’s had. This really is cooking to another level as far as I’m used to. Exceptional! The waitress was also lovely and helpful. I most definitely recommend this restaurant, it is amazing!
Thoroughly enjoyed our Sunday roast despite not having a wee glass of vino to accompany it . Flavours were amazing . Will be back.
Beautiful food with lovely service by first class staff
Excellent lunch, staff trying hard in regard atmosphere.
Think you need to update your website as my wife and myself arrived on saturday 31st october after booking through your website and after receiving an email asking us to confirm our booking on thursday 29th october.We were extremely disappointed thinking eveything was ok only to find the place was in darkness and locked up,this was after checking the website saying that you would be open from 12.00pm till 21.30pm.The website is asking for feedback how can you give feedback to something that never took place.
Waited too long for our meal although this was dealt with to our satisfaction. The food was average and way too salty. The service was excellent though. Won’t be back.
Outstanding as always
Spent a lovely Saturday evening at the Woodpecker with two friends. Great meal and good value.
First time visiting the restaurant and had a fantastic Sunday roast, the food was delicious. Will definitely be coming back. The service was great also, a lovely place to stop into. X
In future I suggest you tell the customer when booking that it is card only as I was planning paying cash ... if I hadn’t brought my card then that could’ve got awkward
Fabulous food with great staff that made us feel so welcome. The dreaded distance needed for covid may have taken some of the atmosphere but this will not put us off coming back.
Lovely meal and great service from all staff. Vegetables and mash that came with hanger steak were not as hot as they should have been. The fillet steak was excellent and perfectly cooked. One of our party was coeliac and we had bread and olives before our starters, we were given extra olives, which was much appreciated, but some gluten free bread would have been even better. I can appreciate the difficult circumstances we all find ourselves in just now, and especially the resteraunt business, but we did feel rushed at end of meal, although it was made clear at reservation process, booking was for 2 hours. Overall experience was very enjoyable, we have already recommended to other friends and would definitely go back.
We opted for the brunch menu which on special offer but both agreed they were worth the full price very tasty and filling and certainly worth a second visit and it goes without saying the staff were impeccable well done everyone
Fantastic food, couldn't fault it. Will be back regularly.
Atmosphere was poor only due to Covid . Waitress was fabulous
Delighted to return here for a meal . Fabulous flavours in every bite . Slightly different to accommodate new health measures but can highly recommend. Well distanced tables and other procedures in place . So good going back again this week .
Dear Diana We are so pleased that we delighted you and even more pleased you are coming back again so soon. Kind regards Tim
I was booked into the restaurant tonight at 6pm with my wife and we were so looking forward to returning to your great place. We arrived on time and were given a table next to the bar along with back wall. We asked if we could sit by the window and fortunately, this was allowed. We sat down, read the menus and pondered about what we would be having. We gave our drinks order and although I was disappointed at the lack of draught beers, I was happy to take a bottle. The server then came to take our order. My wife gave her option for started then asked for a fillet steak for her main. Your server decided at that point to tell us that there was no fillet steak left however there was ribeye which in my eyes, is a poor substitute so much that it's not even on your menu as an option. My wife then quickly deliberated and chose the Sunday Roast dinner to which she was told that this was also not available. Upon hearing this I said that we would not be staying at the roast or Fillet was my order picks too. I asked why this had not been given to us when we sat down or at least got our drinks as your menu is quite limited therefore having these two options removed limits it further. The server couldn't answer however she gave one of the most mindboggling advice going. When you book again, you should book a time as early as possible! I was shocked at this response as having a booking for DINNER at 6pm just about optimises when dinner is usually served. I was confused and dismayed that this was being said. I think it is very poor of your restaurant to have ran out of menu options so early in the day and yes, I am saying 6pm is early when could easily have several sittings after us until closing at 10pm. We paid our drinks and left and unfortunately, will not be rushing back. I have cancelled by booking for December and will be returning to the restaurant that we went to upon leaving the Woodpecker. I have to say the Social distancing aspect was great however maybe you have paid a little too much attention to this area and not so much the 'bread and butter' of your menu. Regards,
I am sorry that you were unhappy with your visit but unfortunately there are some things here which need to be explained. It does seem rather unfair to say that you 'were so looking forward to returning to your great place' and then give us a 1* rating for food and drink which you never actually ordered and a 1* rating for value for money when you didn't stay for dinner. However, I must explain that we don't close at 10pm on a Sunday. We close at 7.30pm on a Sunday and have done so for at least the last 2 years. We tried later opening on a Sunday and it wasn't viable, nobody ever booked after about 6.30pm. You were in fact one of our final 3 bookings for the day. Just to explain the draught beer situation. Before Covid we had the luxury of the downstairs bar, which is now closed until after all restrictions are lifted since it is impossible to comply with the social distancing regulations and run it successfully. We sold a lot of beer downstairs which made it easy to pump some upstairs to the restaurant too. However, on its own the restaurant would never sell a whole barrel of beer before it went out of date, let alone 6 different ones which is the choice we offered. Literally some weeks we would only sell 3 or 4 pints in total and none of things like Guinness. That is why most better restaurants don't serve draught beer. I should also explain that we reopened just 5 days previously and had absolutely no idea what to expect in terms of numbers. We studied other restaurants and spoke to colleagues, the view is that currently there is no consistency, if the news makes people feel safe then they come out but if the news happens to scare people they suddenly cancel or worse, don't show up. We are doing our best to provide the food that people want but we only offer a roast lunch on Sundays so we have to try and judge how much to buy and cook by Thursday to get a butchery delivery on Friday. We clearly cannot keep any unsold food for the next week and since it takes around 4 hours to roast and rest even a smallish joint we cannot suddenly produce more if we sell out. We might have ten portions left at 5pm and suddenly everybody wants it so when you arrive at 6pm it's gone I'm afraid. Of course some huge places will serve so many lunches on a Sunday that they can afford to throw away most of the last joint they cook but that is not a luxury we have in Lanark, equally some cheaper places will have pre-cooked portions in gravy sealed in vacuum bags and just drop them in boiling water to warm them up. That is not a path we would want to go down. I'm sorry but I really do think that selling out at some point late afternoon is normal for a small restaurant offering a freshly cooked roast Sunday lunch. I can accept that it is very annoying if we don't have any fillet steak either. As I explained, it was our first week back and we did much better than we expected to. Our beef all comes from the same breed of cattle, from the same farms and is graded (we buy the best) and aged for 35 days or longer before being trimmed and cut to our exact specifications. We cannot get deliveries on a Sunday nor can we just pop to the supermarket on a Sunday afternoon and buy some more. Obviously we had a lot of chicken, fish and vegetarian food available as that had been less popular than fillet steaks, but that could be different next weekend so again, it’s a juggling act and an hour and a half before closing on a Sunday is, I am afraid, about the worst time for choice, given that we are closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. Nobody wants to run out of food and disappoint you but as a small high quality restaurant we cannot afford to throw away massive amounts on a Sunday night and neither do we want to start compromising quality and taste by using the chain and low cost restaurant solutions either. This is why my staff gave you the advice they did to come earlier in the day, particularly if you want a roast lunch. We offered you a Rib Eye steak which is slightly tougher meat with fat and so on to contend with but most critics believe it has superior taste. You are correct it wasn't on this week's menu but it was actually one of our most popular meats before lockdown. It is going to be used in some specials this week. I do completely understand that we should have told you what we had sold out of when you were given menus. The only explanation I can offer is that the girls have been off work for 6 months and are perhaps a tad rusty. It was the first day back at work for one of the young ladies who served you and the third day back for the other. Obviously we went through all the procedures you would expect and yes, I can accept that, very sadly, the public safety aspects of running a restaurant in the current climate took precedence over the nicer points of service, unfortunately the law makes it very clear that the very top priority of any responsible establishment is the prevention of the spread of coronavirus and the customer's convenience is considered secondary, which is why we ended up with a lockdown which was terribly inconvenient for all of us. We obviously do absolutely all we can to try and ensure our guests are delighted and we have failed in your case for which we are all very sorry. I hope that by explaining what happens and why things are as they are I have at least helped ease your disappointment a little. Kind regards Tim
Food and service was exceptional. Great to see the Woodpecker back open!
Dear Beth We are so happy that we delighted you and we are very glad to be back! Hopefully see you soon. Kind regards Tim