Open Daily for Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner
- Disabled Access
- Free WiFi
- Business Lunch
- Buffets, Business Meetings, Functions catered for
- Weddings and Other Private Parties Catered for
- Gluten Free Available
- Families and Children Welcome
- Private Dining
About The Mary Beale Restaurant
The Mary Beale Restaurant is named after the stunning art work by Britain's first professional woman painter. Many of her original works adorn the walls.
Our Executive Chef Wayne Turner and his team together with the restaurant brigade can now offer you a memorable dining experience with gastronomic delights on the menu and for those with smaller appetites delicious light meals or snacks can be served in the bar.
Afternoon Tea available Mon - Sat 15:00 - 18:00 & Sun 15:30 - 18:00
Our dining experience was excellent in all respects and we wouulld highly recommend The Mary Beale Restaurant
Quality of food was good. Service staff evidently lacked training, some members of staff looked untidy with dirty clothing. All members of staff served us in one way or another but we didn’t have one main member of the waiting staff serving us which meant that whole service experience didn’t run smoothly. I had a chipped tea cup and champagne flute. Staff definitely need to be trained better and given clothing allowance or allocated a uniform.
Excellent, as always!
I could not fault our afternoon tea experience. There is even an arboretum to walk off the effects of sandwiches cakes and scones. A lovely experience for my daughters birthday.
The food was very disappointing. The sandwiches were boring, we only got one quiche between the two of us, the macaroon tasted like it had been made a few days ago, hard on the outside and like a biscuit in the middle, the pastry on the tart was way too thick and I couldn't even eat the cake it was so stodgy. What made it worse was the staff. We waited 40 minutes for our table to be cleared and get the bill! The staff kept looking over and then walking away whenever we tried to get their attention which seemed very unprofessional and we were beyond fed up by the time we actually left. I would have expected much better food and service from this establishment and for this price.
Food excellent, service good but not perfect, I only got my Beales Club discount after checking the bill & querying why it wasn't there, drinks expensive - £2.75 for a tonic water is just over the top & my only real criticism of our visit.
Our small group thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the Arboratum.
Very friendly service and great food ! Will be coming back :-)
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary, held there and my birthday and had a lovely evening. We went early and had a walk round the garden, bringing back lovely memories of our wedding day.
Absolutely wonderful stay ,with only minor blip with kitchen which management completely resolved
It was perfect. The food. The staff. The Pianist. The service was incredible. thank you for the lovely experience
Really enjoyed the food from the set menu
I came to celebrate my 50th birthday with my elderly mum and 2 other family members. Firstly our Prosecco we had was delivered in dirty glasses- there was a type of sawdust over the bottom of all glasses but particularly mine, it really should never have made it from the bar to our table. When you have an afternoon tea you would expect it to be served in bone China, after all this is the history of an afternoon tea - none of the crockery was bone China and the tea was served in metal teapots! There was also no tongs for use with the sugar lumps, you had to use your fingers. I think for a hotel such as this none of the above is acceptable. I have had afternoon teas in the top London hotels and all of them would at the very least use bone China crockery. Added to this we went outside to the terrace for a drink as the sun was shining, unfortunately there were no tables left in the sunshine so we found one slightly around the corner in front of the function room that was in full sun, we were told we couldn’t sit there due to health and safety? And that the staff had to be able to see us at all times? Are you seriously telling me every guest has to be”seen” by staff at every moment? I’ve have never heard this before and it was very jobsworth - my mother had just left hospital after a lengthy stay so to have to put her in the shade wasn’t a good option for us. Fortunately someone moved and we were able to sit in the warmth otherwise we would have had to go back in. I think the hotel needs to give itself a facelift and not trade on its once prestigious name. The reception stand in the restaurant was also extremely dusty and clearly hadn’t been cleaned. The man who served us and showed us to our seat was very pleasant and friendly. Also when paying our bill at the end I had to go to the bar and collect it and then go back to the bar to pay it! Surely asking for the bill a member of staff should have come over to us. - I’m not sure I would recommend an afternoon tea here for the reasons above.
WE HAD A NICE LUNCH AND THE SERVICE WAS GOOD
Pleasant day lovely setting comfortable
Waiting staff extremely knowledgeable and professional
Scones were perfectly baked
We were served by a very pleasant lady who was oriental looking.
FOUR OF US WELL LOOKED AFTER AND DELICIOUSLY FED.
Lovely setting, staff excellent cannot fault anything will be going back again
The experience was good until we paid and were charged an extra £6 because we took scones that were left over with us.
Excellent lunch, great service.
Good, homemade food served in an elegant environment. Reception in the restaurant non existant and service pleasant but inattentive.
Really enjoyed our lunch on Saturday. Food and service were excellent and look forward to dining here again. Many Thanks
Portion size on starters could be more generous.