Open Daily for Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner.
Mary Beale Restaurant & Terrace Bar is open with an all day menu available between 12:00 - 21:00.
Breakfast available between 07:00-10:00 (Monday - Friday) and 08:00-10:30 (Saturday and Sunday).
Afternoon Tea available between 14:00 - 17:00.
- Disabled Access
- Free WiFi
- Business Lunch
- Buffets, Business Meetings, Functions catered for
- Weddings and Other Private Parties Catered for
- Gluten Free Available
- Families and Children Welcome
- Private Dining
About The Mary Beale Restaurant
The Mary Beale Restaurant is named after the stunning art work by Britain's first professional woman painter. Many of her original works adorn the walls.
Our Executive Chef, Wayne Turner and and his team can now offer you a memorable dining experience with gastronomic delights on the menu and for those with smaller appetites delicious light meals or snacks can be served in our Terrace Bar.
Our Restaurant Manager, John Mills and his team look forward to welcoming you.
As usual we had a wonderful time at West Lodge Thank you
Great place, always happy to return. Amazing atmosphere and service, standard always high.
What a touching review - thank you so very much. Our team are ever so grateful to you. What we love most about our jobs is looking after our wonderful guests.
Been here a few times as a break. They desperately need more staff back short on staff slow service they are run on there feet. They did a good job considering. Please bring your staff back. Service and value for money would normally be 5 star
Thank you for your review. Our team (including operational management and junior staff members) are all working very hard, during the slow stages of reopening our hotel, bar and restaurant. Unfortunately, it is not operationally viable to bring all of the staff back at once. But staff are returning on a day by day gradual basis. Thank you so much for supporting us while our industry is trying it's best to recover. We do hope to see you again soon.
we were really impressed with everything yesterday and yhe staff worked SO hard on a very hot evening under v difficult new circumstances with all the new procedures and guidelines , we felt very safe and well looked after and it was such a lovely evening we are coming back this evening with our daughter , and have treated my parents to afternoon tea with garden tour this week too .. perfect place to return to after lockdown
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Our team really appreciate your kind words. We are so pleased to hear you have already booked again with us. Thank you for your support during these challenging times.
Three of us had an excellent light lunch. Everything was perfect.
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to your next visit.
It was excellent many thanks.
Thank you very much for your kind words.
I was disappointed that we requested a window table - there were two vacant ones - each with 4 seats. We were told that as there were only two of us, both 4 seaters had been booked for 4 people each and we were shown to a two seat table. Shortly after we arrived two people were shown to each of the 4 seat tables. We all spent the same amount of time in the restaurant. When queried why we had been treated differently we were told "Well, the larger tables had been booked for tea". Our appointments was 1pm lunch. Why tell customers they have to sit where shown and then let subsequent customers sit where they want. Very disappointed as it was my friend's birthday. When we queried why we had been treated differently we were told "Well, we have 4 people each coming for tea!" Our appointment was for 1pm lunch. Not very good public relations!! We ordered smoked salmon followed by steak and champagne, and thought the food very good indeed but customers treated like children.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were not offered your prefered table. I hope that the food quality and our friendly hard working team will encourage you to return again in the future.
The staff were very friendly and the food was lovely
Thank you very much - our team really appreciate your kind words. Do visit us again soon.
I would have been happier if all the staff were wearing masks and guests who weren't in the bar area were too.I'd then feel happier encouraging more cautious friend to come.
Thank you for your review. We have made our current Covid 19 Policy and procedures with support from an external health & safety consultancy firm. However, we are making relevant amendments on a daily basis based on government guidelines. See you again soon.
We waited a long time to get any drinks, even tea and coffee. We had to clear the table ourselves after finishing the afternoon tea as the staff just left it there even though we asked them to clear it. We asked the price of a bottle of prosecco and was told £28 when the bill came the price was actually £38. Value for money was minimal and would not recommend this to anyone
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us on this occasion. Our team are working very hard during these challenging times. There are clearly areas in which we need to improve. We will continue to strive for improvement and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you in the future.
What a fabulous afternoon tea - one of the best I have ever had. I loved the fact the cakes were delicious but not sickly. Some places make them far too rich and you cannot eat them. The afternoon tea here was perfect and sitting outside overlooking the fabulous grounds made for a very pleasant afternoon.
Most enjoyable experience
A very pleasant afternoon with good service and a good atmosphere.
Staff are very attentive, polite and welcoming. Our sandwiches were beautifully presented with a lovely garnish. Correct hygiene measures were put in place so we felt safe
Took elderly mum and daughter yesterday. Was fabulous. Wonderful food, staff were so friendly and helpful, atmosphere smart but relaxed. They managed all the social distancing really well so was safe but not intrusive. The gardens are glorious. We had a brilliant time and aiming to return for the afternoon tea soon. Would highly recommend.
West Lodge Park is my favourite hotel locally for afternoon tea. This is the first time I have a niggle which really annoyed me. When we asked for our sandwiches to be re-filled as is usually the case, we were told we were not allowed due to COVID (the chef only made the exact number as per bookings). I find this totally ridiculous. To give this context had we moved to the bar and ordered more sandwiches later the chef would have been able to make these or indeed if we were staying at the hotel and ordered room service we could have obtained sandwiches in the room. I do hope management will realise how ridiculous this appears to loyal customers.
Great afternoon tea. Lovely surroundings, excellent service. We really enjoyed it.
Unfortunately the flies were a complete nuisance one in my food one in my husbands wine , he had to close the windows, apart from that very enjoyable, as it all seems to have thanks to your new Manager, he is on the ball all of the time,
A lovely evening
Have been to West Lodge several times and never been disappointed.
On arrival the staff were very friendly, the hotel was lovely and the food was good, we asked for more sandwiches and tea which was not a problem. The grounds in the hotel was lovely. I would recommend.
I understand these are difficult and different times and staff at the Mary Beale are getting to grips with new systems and routines, but the food and the service were not up to its usual standard. It was lovely to be able to sit in the outside area but I would say the rest of our experience was mediocre at best. The afternoon tea food arrived and after 20 minutes of waiting, we had to remind staff to bring our tea. The bread on our sandwiches was dry and there was only 3 small fingers of white and brown bread. No variety of breads like I’m sure there used to be before, and I’m sure there used to be 4 fingers not just 3. Plus, the sandwiches were different in sizes- one was a good third smaller than the other 2. The scones were lovely but the red velvet cake was very dry and tasteless and the strawberry tartlet pastry base was undercooked. Strawberries were really tasty though. We we also never brought a top up of hot water for our teapot nor offered a fresh pot of tea. My main concern was that the tea was served with only one milk jug, teapot and strainer, which I had to share with my friend. In these times, I feel we should not be touching the same things as someone else not in our family bubble and I feel that we should have had our own individual teapot, milk jug and tea strainer, if the Mary Beale were really considering the safety of their customers. So I’m afraid my usual 4-5 stars for this restaurant dropped considerably after our yesterday visit. It definitely was not worth the money we paid.
This was only the second day that the restaurant had reopened due to covid. The staff were well prepared and professional.
More consistent approach to wearing of ppe and obvious adherence to social distancing would give greater confidence. Not one member of staff appeared to be doing quite the same thing! They were all charming so helpful and welcoming and the food delicious, it was good to be back and we hope all goes well. Suggest an almost drill like team approach and consistent standards to service, which may be an anathema to your lovely well intentioned friendly staff.
Lovely experience sitting outside eating out for first time since lockdown. Great service !!