or
or

The Greyfriar

Winchester road , Chawton, Alton, United Kingdom, GU34 1SB
Restaurant info
Opening Information

Bar
Monday - Wednesday: 12.00 - 22.30 | 18.00 - 21.00
Thursday - Saturday: 12.00 - 23.00
Sunday: 12.00 - 22.30

Kitchen
Monday - Wednesday: 12.00 - 14.30 | 18.00 - 21.00
Thursday - Saturday: 12.00 - 14.30 | 18.00 - 21.30
Sunday: 12.00 -17.00

Facilities
  • Disabled Access
  • Private Dining
  • Free WiFi
  • Outside Seating Area
  • Families and Children Welcome

About The Greyfriar

Welcome to The Greyfriar. Surrounded by the wonderful Hampshire countryside and Chawton’s rich literary history we have been the village pub since the time of the Spanish Armada. At the heart of the village we are a family and dog friendly country pub, that offers an unrivalled range of beverages, innovative flavour packed dishes made from local ingredients and traditional pub classics cooked to perfection. The historic Hampshire village of Chawton is just off the junction of the A32 and A31 and a 15-minute walk from the centre of Alton. We are directly opposite the former home of world famous author Jane Austen and a five-minute walk from her ‘Great House’.
The Greyfriar has a large secluded garden with an extensive seating area. There is a children’s play park on the village green behind our large carpark and additional parking is available at several locations close to the pub.

Cuisine: British
Dress Code: Casual
Price point:
£ £ £ £ £

Availability

Available Offers
This offer has price variations on different days. View full details.
Description
Available Dates
This reservation cannot be modified online. Please contact the restaurant directly to update this reservation.
Avios will be awarded within 14 days from dining.
Select an Area
Offers Available
The time you have requested is not available. Please try a different time or date.
The time you have requested is not available. Please try a different time or date.
Diners Review
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Sort By:
5 Stars:
20
4 Stars:
8
3 Stars:
5
2 Stars:
3
1 Star:
0
Visited On Sunday, 12 August 2018

Table of 8 for Sunday lunch - meats no taste lamb and beef, good selection of vegetables great looking pies. Staff very pleasant but not switched on empty drink glasses left on table for duration, wrong meal served took approx 10 mins to replace. Very dissapointing!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 12 August 2018

Great food, good atmosphere, excellent service. We had a really nice time and Sunday roast dinners were particularly good.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 12 August 2018

Sunday lunch was pleasant enough, though we had expected bar snacks as an alternative. The website could be much clearer on the Sunday lunchtime arrangements. . Communication between the waiter and kitchen could have been better (the waiter took the order and double checked it was right before passing it to the kitchen, an incorrect order was later received and had to be returned to the kitchen for rectification.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 11 August 2018

Really lovely food although they had ran out of Steak and other items at 8pm on a Saturday which was a shame - but also understandable with the busy tourist season. Servers were pleasant and helpful but the pub was lacking in a bit of Saturday night atmosphere - imagine everyone was away on holiday! Nice place to visit and the food was truly lovely

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 10 August 2018

Restaurant area was cold due to main door being open. Aaron very attentive so marks up for service. Scallops gritty and over-cooked and the "Huevos" bar snack was little more than a bowl of dry chips with an overcooked fried egg and small amount of ham. £8 for this is ridiculous - fortunately Aaron deducted it from the bill. Fish and Chips were good. Overall impression is that there are many more better pubs in the area which serve consistently better food and charging the same.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 21 July 2018

Great food from guest chef from 'Darkest Wales' ! matched by excellent choice of wine. Very good service. A very pleasant evening which seemed to be enjoyed very much by all attending. These guest chef evening are really excellent value with first class food and a great opportunity to try different styles of food and dishes - Well done to all.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 13 July 2018

Another excellent meal at the Greyfriar - Excellent steak cooked just as requested. Good service. Very pleasant evening.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 13 July 2018

Friendly welcome. Lovely food, excellently presented with swift service. The only problem ,which affects the rating of Atmosphere, was the VERY noisy air conditioning unit which was disturbing even when we chose the furthest away table. This could be solved with acoustic shielding, re-positioning, and other methods. Try the Association of Noise Consultant.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 01 July 2018

Lovely gardens and surroundings, friendly welcome. We had roast dinners which were good but could have been better.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 27 June 2018

Excellent meal. Very friendly pub. Will certainly go again.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 21 June 2018

Another great evening with a Guest Chef and also interesting English wines. First class food and service. Well done to all at the Greyfriars

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 16 June 2018

The best thing about this place was the service - the staff were all welcoming and warm - the pub food was traditional pub grub (no faff, no nonsense). Thank you for a lovely evening.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 15 June 2018

Lovely food but portions very small, therefore quite expensive

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 10 June 2018

There was a delay with the food of about 25 mins because of two large parties

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 02 June 2018

Superb food - surprising high quality for a village pub .

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 02 June 2018

Thank you for a brilliant Birthday Lunch for my husbands birthday yesterday. The food and service was excellent. We will be back again soon.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 20 May 2018

Food not great, but the staff were fantastic...

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 20 May 2018

Having eaten at The Greyfriar a few times in recent months, I feel as though the portion sizes are getting smaller, and becoming less value for money.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 19 May 2018

Excellent evening with guest chef Charlie Palmer. Lovely food and great wine paring. First class service . In every way a most enjoyable evening.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 09 May 2018

always a high standard of food and service

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 09 May 2018

We really enjoyed our visit. The service was a little slow but no problem as we were there to enjoy a leisurely lunch. We were disappointed that quite a few of the menu choices were unavailable particularly as we all chose a highly recommended dish which turned out to be unavailable. However, we had a lovely relaxed time and will return.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 29 April 2018

The whole experience of dinning is unequal in this area.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 28 April 2018

We were disappointed. We chose to have dinner there because my 5 year old daughter is very fussy about food but she would have had pizza or pasta. Both were removed from the menu as unavailable. Pasta and pizza - surely two of the easiest foods to store and cook. We ordered chicken salad and chips as a replacement. The chicken was overcooked and tough. It went uneaten. My son had the kids fish and chips. It was mostly batter and badly overcooked chips. Poor, really. 3 of the adults had burgers. They were ok but nothing more. 5 / 10 for those. 4 / 10 for the overall experience. Finally the booking was for 8 people we were were very cramped in terms of space. Sorry. You asked for feedback - this is what I genuinely thought.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Alex Thank you for your feedback, you are right we should not have run out of pizza and pasta but since we introduced a kids menu these have become very popular. I have spoken to the kitchen to ensure that this situation doesn't happen again. With regards the food we make everything fresh on site, we don't buy frozen food and fry it. Our burgers are normally very well received. We believe this should aslo count for kids, so we don't chuck out your normal chicken nuggets and fish fingers that most venues fob of on children. With regards your booking, on the morning of your table I rung to confirm the table size as your party had made 2 bookings under the same name. i was told it would be a table for 6 and I double checked this. We were extremely busy on Saturday night, so when a table of 6 shows up as an 8 this can lead to cramped conditions. Again apologies for running out of fresh food.

Responded On Monday, 30 April 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 22 April 2018

Slow service, waiting over 40 minutes for fish and chips. Restaurant not particularly busy, four members of staff at the front of house. Food was fine, and reasonable value for money. Have been before and found it better.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 20 April 2018

Thank you for your email. Myself and 3 friends visited this public house on Friday evening. Here is our feedback. . The 2 young boys that served us were very attentive. . Whilst adequate, we were slightly dismayed about the choice/lack of dishes to choose from. Being the pub, we thought there would be things like gammon, pasta dishes, salads, grilled meat and fish to name but a few. This only came to my attention, as when we have previously been to the pub , the landlord said he was looking into changing the menu. . We thought the price of the meals had gone up and it was a expensive meal. We definitely haven’t paid this much for the same 4 meals in the past. Having said all this, we all enjoyed spending time chat together. Ann, Gill, Sue and Marilyn

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money