or
or

The Greyfriar

Winchester road , Chawton, Alton, United Kingdom, GU34 1SB
Restaurant info
Opening Information

Bar
Monday - Wednesday: 12.00 - 22.30 | 18.00 - 21.00
Thursday - Saturday: 12.00 - 23.00
Sunday: 12.00 - 22.30

Kitchen
Monday - Wednesday: 12.00 - 14.30 | 18.00 - 21.00
Thursday - Saturday: 12.00 - 14.30 | 18.00 - 21.30
Sunday: 12.00 -17.00

Facilities
  • Disabled Access
  • Private Dining
  • Free WiFi
  • Outside Seating Area
  • Families and Children Welcome

About The Greyfriar

Welcome to The Greyfriar. Surrounded by the wonderful Hampshire countryside and Chawton’s rich literary history we have been the village pub since the time of the Spanish Armada. At the heart of the village we are a family and dog friendly country pub, that offers an unrivalled range of beverages, innovative flavour packed dishes made from local ingredients and traditional pub classics cooked to perfection. The historic Hampshire village of Chawton is just off the junction of the A32 and A31 and a 15-minute walk from the centre of Alton. We are directly opposite the former home of world famous author Jane Austen and a five-minute walk from her ‘Great House’.
The Greyfriar has a large secluded garden with an extensive seating area. There is a children’s play park on the village green behind our large carpark and additional parking is available at several locations close to the pub.

Cuisine: British
Dress Code: Casual
Price point:
£ £ £ £ £

Availability

Available Offers
This offer has price variations on different days. View full details.
Description
Available Dates
This reservation cannot be modified online. Please contact the restaurant directly to update this reservation.
Avios will be awarded within 14 days from dining.
Select an Area
Offers Available
The time you have requested is not available. Please try a different time or date.
The time you have requested is not available. Please try a different time or date.
Diners Review
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Sort By:
5 Stars:
13
4 Stars:
2
3 Stars:
3
2 Stars:
2
1 Star:
0
Visited On Sunday, 20 May 2018

Food not great, but the staff were fantastic...

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 20 May 2018

Having eaten at The Greyfriar a few times in recent months, I feel as though the portion sizes are getting smaller, and becoming less value for money.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 19 May 2018

Excellent evening with guest chef Charlie Palmer. Lovely food and great wine paring. First class service . In every way a most enjoyable evening.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 09 May 2018

always a high standard of food and service

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 09 May 2018

We really enjoyed our visit. The service was a little slow but no problem as we were there to enjoy a leisurely lunch. We were disappointed that quite a few of the menu choices were unavailable particularly as we all chose a highly recommended dish which turned out to be unavailable. However, we had a lovely relaxed time and will return.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 29 April 2018

The whole experience of dinning is unequal in this area.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 28 April 2018

We were disappointed. We chose to have dinner there because my 5 year old daughter is very fussy about food but she would have had pizza or pasta. Both were removed from the menu as unavailable. Pasta and pizza - surely two of the easiest foods to store and cook. We ordered chicken salad and chips as a replacement. The chicken was overcooked and tough. It went uneaten. My son had the kids fish and chips. It was mostly batter and badly overcooked chips. Poor, really. 3 of the adults had burgers. They were ok but nothing more. 5 / 10 for those. 4 / 10 for the overall experience. Finally the booking was for 8 people we were were very cramped in terms of space. Sorry. You asked for feedback - this is what I genuinely thought.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Alex Thank you for your feedback, you are right we should not have run out of pizza and pasta but since we introduced a kids menu these have become very popular. I have spoken to the kitchen to ensure that this situation doesn't happen again. With regards the food we make everything fresh on site, we don't buy frozen food and fry it. Our burgers are normally very well received. We believe this should aslo count for kids, so we don't chuck out your normal chicken nuggets and fish fingers that most venues fob of on children. With regards your booking, on the morning of your table I rung to confirm the table size as your party had made 2 bookings under the same name. i was told it would be a table for 6 and I double checked this. We were extremely busy on Saturday night, so when a table of 6 shows up as an 8 this can lead to cramped conditions. Again apologies for running out of fresh food.

Responded On Monday, 30 April 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 22 April 2018

Slow service, waiting over 40 minutes for fish and chips. Restaurant not particularly busy, four members of staff at the front of house. Food was fine, and reasonable value for money. Have been before and found it better.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 20 April 2018

Thank you for your email. Myself and 3 friends visited this public house on Friday evening. Here is our feedback. . The 2 young boys that served us were very attentive. . Whilst adequate, we were slightly dismayed about the choice/lack of dishes to choose from. Being the pub, we thought there would be things like gammon, pasta dishes, salads, grilled meat and fish to name but a few. This only came to my attention, as when we have previously been to the pub , the landlord said he was looking into changing the menu. . We thought the price of the meals had gone up and it was a expensive meal. We definitely haven’t paid this much for the same 4 meals in the past. Having said all this, we all enjoyed spending time chat together. Ann, Gill, Sue and Marilyn

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 08 April 2018

Great pub with friendly service. Would definitely recommend for a value for money Sunday lunch.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 10 March 2018

Loved the food, really well balanced and happy that it's my local. Lynn

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 10 March 2018

We were really looking forward to our Lunch at the Greyfriars, as the reviews we had read were very good. Unfortunately the service really let it down. We arrived early, and ordered drinks, and advised that we could sit at our table. After about 15 minutes the drinks arrived, we asked if we could wine and food. The Waitress took the order for the wine and tap water, but never came back for the food order. Eventually a waiter took our order, this was half an hour after our drinks arrived. He advised that as they were busy, there could be a wait, which was OK. The waitress mouth wine, we ordered red wine, but she bought white, we advised her that this wasn't correct, she didn't seem very happy about this. She then bought the water, we asked if this was tap, she said No, was advised that this was what we ordered, again she wasn't happy. Our starters finally arrived 45 minutes after we had ordered them, there was an apology when the food was bought. The food was pretty good. We then had another 45 minutes wait after finishing our starters before the main courses arrived. We also had to ask for the plates from the starter to be cleared, as only 3 plates out of the 4 had been cleared. By this time we had drunk the wine and so ordered another, after waiting for 20 minutes, we called the waiter over, as the wine still hadn't come, he asked the waitress, and she advised that she had been too busy, and hadn't put the order through yet. The food was OK but not great, 2 of us had the Halibut, and both found it over cooked, the Pie was also ordered and the vegetables were a little burnt. The Halibut was also pretty expensive for a very small piece, 2 cabbage leaves and one fondant potato. After all this, we decided not to bother with Pudding and Coffee, however the Bille still came to over £150. Other people were complaining about the time it was taking to get served. We are local, and live about 5 minute walk away, and were looking forward to visiting more often, but based on Saturdays experience, I don't think we will visit again

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 04 March 2018

The food was extremely tasty and was all home cooked. A little more veg and another slice of meat would have taken it to the 10 out of 10 especially the cauliflower cheese portion which was one of the best I've ever tasted but there was only a mouthful so left me wanting more. Would recommend and will be visiting again next time I'm passing.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 19 February 2018

Excellent first evening with a Guest Chef - who was very well supported by the Greyfriar chefs and the front of House staff led by Simon - I look forward to the next event!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 20 January 2018

Lunch menu was rather limited for choice if you didn't want or have the appetite for a generous portioned, rather expensive main course. Service was good, always helpful.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 06 January 2018

Thanks for looking after our party so well. Pleasant welcome, great efficiency and good food. Perfect!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 17 December 2017

Great lunch for our group of 11. Lovely food & good service. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 03 December 2017

We had family late Thanksgiving Lunch & early Xmas Lunch at The Greyfriar. We had an outstanding experience in every respect. The way we greeted with the friendly approach to check in and seating to our reserved table. Our expectations were exceeded by the staff from service perspective, food served (quality put forward by kitchen) and drinks that we ordered.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 03 December 2017

Have lived in the village for over 5 years and had given up on the Greyfriars pub as previous owners were not very welcoming, so glad we have returned as the new owners are fabulous and the Sunday roast is best we have had out in a long time ! Already made our next booking !!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 28 November 2017

Friendly professional staff who produced excellent meals for a large group of us.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money