The Elephant Wrestler

138 Hurstmere Road, Takapuna, North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand, 0622
Restaurant info
Opening Information

Sun - Wed - 12.00pm – 10.30pm
Thurs - Sat - 12.00pm - 1.00am

Facilities
  • Disabled Access
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Alfresco Dining
Menus

About The Elephant Wrestler

In 1912 a bloke who would soon become known as The Elephant Wrestler came to Takapuna. By 1939 he had world wrestling championship bout to his name and was also known to take on larger species of the animal kingdom thus said elephants came to fear him but locals came to love him. So let us raise a toast to your larger than life local.

Cuisine: Modern New Zealand, All You Can Eat, Banquet, BBQ & Grill, Child Friendly, Dessert, Gastro Pub, Pizza, Salads, Small Plates, Steak, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Vegetarian
Dress Code: Casual,Smart Casual,Smart Casual
Price point:
$ $ $ $ $

Availability

Available Offers
This offer has price variations on different days. View full details.
Description
Available Dates
This reservation cannot be modified online. Please contact the restaurant directly to update this reservation.
Edit / Cancel Reservation
Diners Review
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Sort By:
5 Stars:
107
4 Stars:
48
3 Stars:
9
2 Stars:
0
1 Star:
0
Visited On Monday, 03 June 2019

Food was fantastic tho waffles would have been so much better with a good amount of cream/icecream rather than the tiny amount of marscapone.Also cauliflower with coleslaw would have been great but both were drowned in condiments. The service was exemplary from our British waitress. Re atmosphere - rating slumped because the place was so cold. Cliental wearing puffer jackets at the table should give a clue. We won't be back til summer.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 15 June 2019

First time dining here for us. Needed a quick bite to eat prior to an event at Bruce Mason. Fantastic service from Annabel - very helpful and a real knowledge of what dishes would be suitable for our group and time limit. Hope to come back soon

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Steve, yep Annabel is a real superstar actually. We are glad she pulled out another star performance and got you all sorted quickly and efficiently before the show. We hope you enjoyed all the food and that we do see you again soon. Hopefully before you visit BMC again.

Responded On Monday, 17 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 07 June 2019

Good spot in Takapuna. Greta service. The band was really good.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Mariana, Thanks for your ratings and feedback. It is awesome that you enjoyed your visit with us and hopefully you got a bot of a dance in as well. Pop back and see us again soon.

Responded On Monday, 17 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 07 June 2019

Pleasant atmosphere and very attentive staff. Food came in large portion sizes but was great value for money.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Minuli, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate you taking the time to give us your ratings and for the feedback. DO pop in and see us again soon.

Responded On Monday, 17 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 07 June 2019

Rate this spot for a good get together! Really accommodating for a group of 25. Would recommend!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Riley, thanks for the feedback and the ratings. We are glad that you and your group had a good time and we hope you choose to come and see us again soon. Let us know if you need to book again. [email protected]

Responded On Monday, 17 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 08 June 2019

Very attentive staff who also understood the GF food handling practices required for people for coeliac

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Wade, I hope you enjoyed the choices on the specialty GF menu. I think there is in excess of 20 options on this new special dietary requirements menu. That is just for GF patrons. ANyway thank you for your comments as we do take this very seriously and appreciate you acknowledging that. Come and see us again soon and try out some of the other options.

Responded On Monday, 17 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 08 June 2019

Delicious food. Especially the beef dumplings!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thanks Sajid. It is great that you enjoyed your visit and I agree. Those dumplings are becoming a bit of a weak spot for me too. Glad that you enjoyed all your food and that the team took good care of you.

Responded On Monday, 17 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 07 June 2019

I was in a group of 4, and we got the carnivore sharing platter, and it tastes great! Plenty of food and lots of different things to try. The only downside was that we were there on a bit of a busy night, and we were placed by a bit of a noisy table, that Kept bumping into my wifes seat. Food was great though!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Gavin, Thanks so much for the lovely feedback. I am so sorry that you felt like you were getting bumped around a bit. I hope that this was not ignored if in fact brought to the team's attention. If it was then I am very sorry. We really do appreciate all feedback and we will certainly make the servers (some new) to be a little more "aware" of the atmosphere in their sections and see if we can avoid this for future customers or for yourselfs when you return. WIth that beng soon hopefully. Take care until next time.

Responded On Monday, 17 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 01 June 2019

Great service!!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thanks Amanda. So happy that you enjoyed your visit,

Responded On Friday, 07 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 04 June 2019

Didn’t enjoy being seated in the garden area on a cold night even though the quiz in the indoor area did not start for another 1.5 hr after we got there. We should have been advised of this when they sent our written confirmation. Friendly waitress.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Jean, I am certainly sorry that you did not enjoy parts of your visit. I do agree that you could of been accommodated inside and I am certainly surprised that you were not if you had expressed dissatisfaction with where you were seated. For this I am sorry. We are pleased that your server took good care of you and please do not hesitate to communicate and issues with us at any point during your ext visit and we will always try and fix it for you.

Responded On Friday, 07 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 03 June 2019

Waitresses were so accommodating, friendly and attentive. Food was delicious, hamburgers and fettuccine and the biscuit desert so so good, generous portions. Great quality and prices.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Nesmie, thanks so much for all your lovely feedback and the 5 Star Ratings across the board. We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything from service, food and beverage. The new desserts are a little bit "Killer" to be honest. We would love to see you back again soon, so don;t let it be too long.

Responded On Friday, 07 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 03 June 2019

Great welcome...pizza delicious, as was the tender very tasty squid...fries looked perfect, my companion ate the lot, so clearly as good as they looked.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Jo, thanks for your ratings and feedback. It would be great to know how we could of gotten a few more 5 Star Ratings off you. We really value our customers feedback so if there is anything then please reach out to me on [email protected],co,nz

Responded On Friday, 07 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 29 May 2019

Aimee was outstanding to work with and the meal ran incredibly smoothly which is no mean feat with 34 hungry intermediate students. Food came out quickly and everyone was happy. I would definitely do this again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to other schools. Thank you for having us!!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Sarah, thanks so much. Aimee is a real star of The Elephant Wrestler and really cares about her function customers. Yeah the "Teams" deal is awesome and perfect for school groups and small teams. THanks for being an advocate for this service. Let us know if we can ever help you out again.

Responded On Friday, 07 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 23 May 2019

Good old pub grub! and i say that as a compliment. although chips were overly salted, and the salad was not my liking but thats just preference. as a venue and value it is all good.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Steve, thanks so much for your ratings and the feedback. What did you not like about the salad? We will look into it. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope that we will see you again soon.

Responded On Friday, 07 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 24 May 2019

The beef madras was absolutely delicious. Make sure you keep that on the menu forever!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Poi, thanks so much for your 5 Star Ratings!! We really appreciate your feedback. You are not the first person to say that about a number of items on the new menu actually. This is a good thing:) Please do pop in and see us again soon Poi.

Responded On Friday, 07 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 25 May 2019

Great service, staff managed to get our food out early as we had a show to get to, despite being super busy. Food was amazing! Highly recommend.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Kaylee, thanks for your lovely feedback. We certainly try to help people out as much as possible on show nights. Thanks for choosing to done with us and don't wait until you are going to another show to come and see us again. Hope you enjoyed the show as well!!

Responded On Friday, 07 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 24 May 2019

👌

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thanks Denis. We are glad you had a good time. Do come back and it all over again soon. We are always here!!

Responded On Friday, 07 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 23 May 2019

Loved the customer service. Great food and good music was playing. Will definitely come again

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Carmen, Thanks so much for all your feedback. We really appreciate it. You should get down here on Thursday's now!! We have LIVE BAND Karaoke every Thursday from 9pm. It is so much fun.

Responded On Friday, 07 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 23 May 2019

Overall really enjoyed it. Would love to see more vegan on the menu-some of the already vegetarian dishes wouldnt take much to make them vegan. Also would prefer there wasnt smoking under the canopy.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Vicki, thanks for your feedback. We certainly try our hardest to accommodate both vegan and gluten free patrons and that is why we have dedicated menus for both. You are correct about the vegan option and there a re a lot of dishes that are marked as *can be made vegan* on the menu. Please next time just ask our servers and we will absolutely do our best to accommodate. I know some venues are not very understanding on this but we certainly try to be, We do hope that we see you again soon,

Responded On Friday, 07 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 22 May 2019

Staff are always welcoming and friendly . Great food at reasonable prices. By far the best place to meet n drink on the shore.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Aaron, thanks so much for the 5 Star Rating and the amazing feedback. The team will be so proud t have received this. We are "Your Larger Than Life Local" and we love living up to that mantra. Our customers are very special to us and we aim to make every visit special. So, come and see us again mate.

Responded On Thursday, 23 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 21 May 2019

Had a great quiz night, thanks for looking after us Alex! :-)

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Antje, thanks for the feedback. The Quiz was crazy busy this week but we are really pleased that the service met your expectations. We really appreciate the 5 Star Rating and we will pass your feedback onto Alex Thanks again.

Responded On Thursday, 23 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 17 May 2019

Hello there. Yet again The Elephant Wrestler was an excellent choice for a farewell to a work colleagues - with approx.25 people over a few hours from lunchtime in the Courtyard. A great venue, excellent service and very good food. Drinks were on the company but people's individual lunch options were to be paid for by each individual, which I thought might be complicated. It was not an issue at all for the staff and we didn't even need to get up from our seats to pay! The situation was very relaxed and we all had a good time. We highly recommend it.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Barbara, thanks for the feedback. We really appreciate it and Belle (your server) was so good. You would never had known that was her first Friday lunch shift. She is really amazing and we are so pleased to have her on the team. THanks again Barbara and I am certain we will see you again soon.

Responded On Thursday, 23 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 16 May 2019

So great to have such a great gluten free menu!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Alison, thanks for the amazing feedback. We really do appreciate it. A lot of work goes into the Vegetarian/Vegan menu as well as the Gluten Free menu to ensure these customers have a full option menu as well. Not just a couple of items thrown on there to keep them happy. We are so pleased you enjoyed it. Well now you know we have such an extensive GF menu we hope t see you back soon.

Responded On Thursday, 23 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 12 May 2019

The Elephant Wrestler is a fantastic place. I love dining there. Every time I’m in Auckland I always have to stop in and either have a drink and some calamari, or a full meal. It’s my favourite place to go. Wonderful atmosphere and friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Lori, that is so fantastic and we really appreciate your kind words. Thank you so much, as this will really mean a lot to the team. We are looking forward to your next visit already.

Responded On Wednesday, 15 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 09 May 2019

Ribs night is awesome great quality food for value

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Callan, If you like Ribs night you should really come and check out the June Ribs Pop Up we have. It is every Sunday in June in conjunction with Jack Daniels Brothers of the Grill. THe top 5 JD's BBQ teams cook every Sunday in June. Check out our website. Once again glad you enjoyed the All You Can Eat ribs and really appreciate the 5 Star Rating.

Responded On Sunday, 12 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money