The best times. The best tables.
or
or

The Copper Horse

14-15 Main Street, Seamer, Scarborough, North Yorkshire, Seamer, United Kingdom, YO12 4PS
Restaurant info
Opening Information

OPENING TIMES
Bar opening Times
Tues-Fri 12-3pm & 5.30pm-11pm
Saturday 12noon 'til late & Sunday 12-11pm

Food is served:
MONDAYS
CLOSED
(Except Bank Holidays)
TUESDAY to SATURDAY
Lunch: 12 noon to 2.30pm
Dinner: 6pm – 9.00pm
SUNDAYS
12 noon to 8pm

Facilities
  • No Disabled Access
  • Well Behaved Children Welcome
  • Accommodation
  • Bar
  • Business Lunch
  • Buffets, Business Meetings, Functions catered for
  • Weddings and Other Private Parties Catered for
  • Gluten Free Available
  • Outside Seating Area
  • Free WiFi

About The Copper Horse

The Copper Horse has established itself as one of the most outstanding dining experiences in Scarborough. Serving seasonally inspired food, complemented by great service in a relaxed dining environment.
Our new look has also inspired a new menu, featuring modern British and classic dishes along with a new grill section using the Bertha Oven, cooking up to 500 degrees over charcoal for an intense smokey flavour.
The menu features an exceptional selection of fish & seafood, along with 30 day aged steaks, chicken supreme, rump of lamb & our classic steak burger. Diners can also enjoy Blackboard Specials, Sunday Roasts, and our renowned selection of scrumptious Desserts.
Why not stay the night in one of our exceptional en-suite rooms, each individually furnished to the very highest standards offering luxury and comfort to complement dinner.

Cuisine: British, Fine Dining, Gastro Pub, Steak, Sunday Lunch
Dress Code: Smart Casual
Price point: $ $ $
Availability
Available Offers
This offer has price variations on different days. View full details.
Description
Available Dates
This reservation cannot be modified online. Please contact the restaurant directly to update this reservation.
Avios will be awarded within 14 days from dining.
Select an Area
Offers Available
We currently do not have availability for the date and/or time you have selected. However we may still be able to accommodate you. Please continue to complete your enquiry by clicking "MAKE ENQUIRY" and a member of our team will be in contact soon.
The time you have requested is not available. Please try a different time or date.
Diners Review
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Sort By:
5 Stars:
68
4 Stars:
25
3 Stars:
6
2 Stars:
6
1 Star:
1
Visited On Friday, 07 November 2014

Lovely pub for a relaxed meal. Superb gluten free menu and helpful staff.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 08 November 2014

Booking system worked really well, good friendly service and nicely presented food. Not an extensive menu and could do with up flavours.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 05 November 2014

Delicious food! Very good srvice, lovely atmosphere. Will definitely come back next time we visit Scarborough.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 01 November 2014

I ordered the beef & ale pie, what I recevied was what looked like a frozen pie from Aldi with a shot of ale in shot glass? It tasted pretty much the same too (like a frozen pie)! Chips were raw in the middle, no veg. Rest of my party seemed to fair much better than I did, my meal was bitterly dissapointing. Also you're packed in like Sardines in a tin!, Won't be rushing back!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 28 October 2014

Great dining experience... lovely staff and service, good quality food which was nice, hot, and tasty. I thought it was a little expensive for the food we received. All in all, a good night, and we will most certainly be returning to try the menu again. perhaps the Chef will be a little more generous with the portions on our next visit.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 29 October 2014

lovely table, excellent waiter. Had run out of the salad me and one of my colleagues ordered but rectified this and created me my own salad - it was excellent. Good value for money, food quite slow but worth the wait. Will be back.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 28 October 2014

Three of us had lunch to celebrate a birthday. We needed vegetarian and gluten-free options, which you offered. We all enjoyed our choices immensely, and will definitely return. One minor point: the coffee was too weak.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 26 October 2014

We have dined here both lunch and in the evening and it has been excellent evey time. The food and service is second to none. Thank you .

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 25 October 2014

We booked a table for four - two adults and two children,Saturday night at 7 pm. We did not receive our main course until nearly 9pm. Although the food was acceptable, a 2 hour wait was not. The drinks orders were very slow also and mixed up and to top it all even though the waitress had just printed our bill and shown it to me to check, she entered a different tables amount into the card machine adding over £100 ! good job I checked. We will not be returning and will not recommend.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 19 October 2014

Great food and service will be back soon

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 18 October 2014

Enjoyed very much

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 07 October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal on Tuesday last, as we always do. On the stength of our experience we made a reservation for April 23rd next year for a party of 10 , trust this ok. many thanks John and Marlene Alexander.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 28 September 2014

I had booked for 13:30 but on arrival at 13.20 was advised that there was NO Beef left which was disappointing as I was going to have this with the roast. Had to choose an alternative dish.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 14 September 2014

Wonderful venue and excellent food!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 05 September 2014

Excellent for my gluten free friend.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 31 August 2014

An excellent all round experience. We chose the Copper Horse because of its clear gluten-free menu and were not disappointed with both normal and gluten-free choices being of a very high standard. Waiting staff were attentive and thoughtful.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 26 August 2014

The starters and sweet were very nice, one meal was reasonably good, the other (Lamb) was undercooked and served on a greasy potato rosti that was running with oil, (and no, it wasn't the normal "fat" you get with lamb, it was oil from the potato) and spoilt the dish, which wasn't cheap so should have been cooked with more care.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 30 August 2014

Great food and service. good atmosphere. Will definately go back.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 23 August 2014

Lovely food, the gluten free menu has lots of choice and the staff were very helpful and accommodating with our requests. Highly recommend and will definitely be going back

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 23 August 2014

Copper horse really is a fantastic dining experience. Great food in a lovely setting.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 20 August 2014

We had a truly wonderful meal and would both definitely eat there again. The main qualm I had was the amount of racist posters up. I realise that the intention was to display theatrical history from the local area, but seeing "black face" everywhere during my meal was a bit upsetting. The actual food was fantastic, though.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry you found the décor upsetting, that is certainly not our intention, we will do our best to address this issue, however as you correctly noticed it is a history of the local acts who come to Scarborough in the 50's and is reflective of the attitude at the time.

Responded On Saturday, 23 August 2014
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 15 August 2014

Excelent food , Service second to none wounderful!!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you very much, our service is something we pride ourselves on

Responded On Saturday, 23 August 2014
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 16 August 2014

The staff on the day were very pleasant and most accommodating. However looking at the footfall they were having to deal with, we felt that at times it was difficult to get their attention. Only because they were so busy, I would guess that someone had phoned in sick. Or suggest you employ at least one other person for front of house duties, when The Copper Horse is so busy. The staff were excellent and could not have worked any harder to see that everyone's needs were being attended to.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for your feedback and for being so understanding with regards to the staff, it is difficult to know how many staff to put on as our numbers fluctuate frequently and to rota effectively is a challenge and sometimes we get caught out. I am, however, pleased you found the staff on duty hard working and delivering a good service.

Responded On Saturday, 23 August 2014
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 09 August 2014

So thrilled to have the level of choice on the gluten free menu and the food I received was excellent. My first ever outside the home crumble....yum. We will return.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you very much, I am glad you enjoyed your visit last Saturday and hope to see you again

Responded On Wednesday, 13 August 2014
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 27 July 2014

Sorry to say that we were disappointed with our Sunday lunch. The meat was tough, roast beef, and covered already in gravy. We preferred the gravy to be for us to pour as required. Hence the roast potatoes were not crispy as they had been sitting in the gravy. The veg were unexciting and very raw, courgettes sliced longways carrots and broccoli all served together in a small rather deep stainless steel small dish. Sorry not as it used to be at all.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your Sunday lunch at The Copper Horse. As a rule our gravy is served on the meat but guests are more than welcome to request it is served separately, if you return please feel free to mention this to your server. We try to offer good quality products and we are looking into new ways to serve the vegetables. thank you for your feedback

Responded On Monday, 04 August 2014
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money