The Chequers

The Chequers Westoning, Park Road, Westoning, United Kingdom, MK45 5LA
Restaurant info
Opening Information

The Chequers is open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner, 7 days a week.

Facilities
  • Disabled Access
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor Seating
  • Families and Children Welcome

About The Chequers

The Chequers is a pub/ restaurant that serves fresh quality British food with continental inspirations. We use local produce but only if it's the best.

Cuisine: British
Dress Code: Casual
Price point:
£ £ £ £ £

Availability

Available Offers
This offer has price variations on different days. View full details.
Description
Available Dates
This reservation cannot be modified online. Please contact the restaurant directly to update this reservation.
Edit / Cancel Reservation
Diners Review
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Sort By:
5 Stars:
986
4 Stars:
188
3 Stars:
18
2 Stars:
6
1 Star:
1
Visited On Saturday, 15 May 2021

Friendly and helpful staff. Great menu. Fabulous food. Really well laid out. Warm and dry even in the downpours of the afternoon. You've done a great job. Thank you so much

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 15 May 2021

Amazing food, as always! Excellent service and very Covid-safe outside dining. Warm enough even at 11pm thanks to the heaters. Will be returning again very soon.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 15 May 2021

The food was lovely here. However from the moment we arrived the service and atmosphere didn’t meet the same level. When we arrived (having booked on line and called the day before to confirm) the table wasn’t ready, we were sitting on a bench and 2 chairs that were bought out and the table set up as we waited - we were not early but it felt like we were unexpected! The heater wasn’t on, despite being a cold day and us saying to staff how chilly it was. The benches and chairs were cold to sit on- other restaurants we’d been too provided cushions/furs to sit on and their heaters were on. We ordered our food and were then told it would be over half an hour before it arrived, they were very sorry about this so asked if we like some nibbles. This was said in such a way that it would be such a long wait and as an apology please accept something complimentary - which we did. 1. From ordering these “nibbles” at 12:55 the actual meal arrived anyway at 1:20pm the “nibbles” plates hadn’t even been cleared.., then we were charged for the nibbles anyway. This seem like a sneaky way to get us to spend more money when it was not needed. When the food arrived it was lovely and we couldn’t fault it. However the chips that accompanied the steak didn’t arrive and we had to ask for them. When they finally came we had to chase staff again to remind them that we were missing the steak sauces.... by the time they arrived half the steaks had been eaten. We were however given the sauces on the house. In conclusion, Amazing food but the service and the outdoor setting and atmosphere certainly did not match the price tag of the food. It was on a whole a disappointing experience for a family birthday occasion!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hello Thank you for your review and please rest assured that we will be looking into this. The service was clearly a let down for you and the staff on duty will be spoken to. With regards to the outside area, your negative comments are the only ones we have had in the five weeks of having to serve outside. I'm sorry you didn't like the area you were sat in, however we have spent nearly £10,000 trying to make the areas nice, comfortable and more importantly safe. We don't put the gas heaters on straight away as we can't afford to be heating an area that didn't have any customers until you arrived at 12.30pm. The nibbles are recommended to people if they are only ordering main courses without starters. Because we cook from fresh we recommend nibbles so that you have something to "nibble on" whilst waiting. We never say they are complimentary, we are just trying to be honest that you might have a wait whilst your food is cooked. Surely that is better than taking your order and just leaving you to wait and wait?!

Responded On Monday, 17 May 2021
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 11 May 2021

Really lovely evening for our Anniversary in the marquee with the lights and music in there it was like being on holiday . The food was amazing too !

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 13 May 2021

Friendly and attentive staff felt safe with COVID protocols, especially the cutlery and napkins in sealed bags

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 09 May 2021

Great quality food

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 11 May 2021

Excellent outdoor dining area with fairy lights and even though it was raining felt really atmospheric. Really covid safe, you can order food from the app if you want to limit seeing staff. Delicious food as always. Friendly staff.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 07 May 2021

As always, excellent service from warm friendly helpful staff. Food and drink 5 star!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 09 May 2021

Unfortunately the potatoes on the roast dinner had clearly been fried with the hoisin spring rolls which were listed on the starter menu. This impacted the flavour of the whole meal. Service however was okay but at times felt clinical and somewhat abrupt.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 09 May 2021

Felt very Covid safe at the chequers and the good was lovely. Felt very well looked after

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 08 May 2021

A good set up outside - will come back soon

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 08 May 2021

Excellent food and Sally gave us great service all evening.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 07 May 2021

Faultless everytime !

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 08 May 2021

Thank you so much for fitting us in at such short notice and providing a lovely venue. The food was delicious and great for the children too! Thank you again, Debbie

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 05 May 2021

Very safe and reassuring first venture out to lunch post lockdown.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 03 May 2021

Loved the night in the windy marquee set up thanks guys the service was amazing

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 03 May 2021

.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 30 April 2021

lovely staff.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 02 May 2021

Great friendly service, lovely steak cooked to perfection. Outdoor undercover seating. Thank you

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 02 May 2021

The food was delicious and served quickly. Staff were happy / accommodating under busy circumstances. We enjoy eating at the Chequers. Look forward to returning indoors soon. Great job all of you - regards Paula & family

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 01 May 2021

Great food and friendly, helpful service. Outside area worked well.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 01 May 2021

I think you’ve done a great job creating the extra seating outside. Food was delicious as always. Had a few take aways over the lockdowns and always good quality and hot. Only thing I would say it would be nice to have some easy music in the background.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 01 May 2021

Thank you so much Team Chequers for really going the extra mile, and for another amazing evening. We couldn’t have hoped for nicer food or more friendly staff on what was our first evening out since restrictions eased. The special touch of the birthday card for my husband was just so thoughtful. Will definitely be back soon. Thanks again.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 30 April 2021

Lovely evening, lovely food and covid safe. Service a little slow at times but didn't spoil the evening

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 28 April 2021

First meal out since lockdown was lifted and it was a very pleasant experience. Attentive staff, delicious pizza and made to feel very comfortable by the set up - nice patio heaters and good spacing between tables.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money