or
or

Sweat Shop Brew Kitchen

7 Sale St, Freemans Bay, Auckland City, New Zealand, 1010
Restaurant info
Opening Information

Mon – Sun, 11.30am – Late

Facilities
  • Disabled Access
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Alfresco Dining
Menus

About Sweat Shop Brew Kitchen

WORK HARD. IT’S WHAT WE DO AND WE DO IT WELL. IT’S NOT AN EASY JOURNEY, BUT WE DON’T DO IT ‘CAUSE IT’S EASY. WE DO IT ‘CAUSE IT’S HARD. LIKE OUR BOUTIQUE BREWERY. IT NEVER QUITS, RUNNING OUT FRESH, NEW BREWS AND HOPPED-UP BEERS. THE BEST IN THE WORLD. AND A CRAFTY KITCHEN. IT NEVER SLEEPS, CREATING HOME-MADE BBQ RUBS AND SMOKEHOUSE MEATS. KISSED BY FLAME AND LICKED BY SMOKE. WE’RE THE HARDEST WORKING BAR IN AUCKLAND, BRED ON BLOOD, SWEAT AND BEERS. WELCOME TO THE SWEAT SHOP.

Cuisine: Modern New Zealand
Dress Code: Casual
Price point:
$ $ $ $ $

Availability

Available Offers
This offer has price variations on different days. View full details.
Description
Available Dates
This reservation cannot be modified online. Please contact the restaurant directly to update this reservation.
Avios will be awarded within 14 days from dining.
Select an Area
Offers Available
The time you have requested is not available. Please try a different time or date.
The time you have requested is not available. Please try a different time or date.
Diners Review
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Sort By:
5 Stars:
17
4 Stars:
8
3 Stars:
3
2 Stars:
4
1 Star:
2
Visited On Saturday, 19 May 2018

I am sure the restaurant would be the perfect place to be on a night out with friends for a quick bite and drinks but as for private functions. Although we were in a separate area, we still had people coming through to use the bathroom facilities and considering we “book” out an area, it was still available to public. The food was extremely below par. Undercooked veggies, poorly reheated food, old fish (which was served long after other mains when everyone had already eaten), dry and lazily presented meat and excessive amounts of clearly easier to throw out plates like roasted potatoes and coleslaw. Continuously having to ask waiters for water was also quite frustrating. The wait between entrees and mains was way too long, especially when you’re expecting children to be out by 9:30. Several guests found the staff quite unhelpful. Not to mention jars shattering on the tables during dinner, a major safety hazard you should perhaps take into consideration. For $40 per person the I wouldn’t agree it was reasonable value for money. I understand it was quite a busy night so I wouldn’t completely rule out Sweatshop for functions but would perhaps recommend a better management system.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 18 May 2018

Meat was awesome and loved the Mac and cheese morsels. Service was great, however it was so crowded later on and difficult to acquire beverages. The band were good fun, as always.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 13 May 2018

Great service, great food :)

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Delshad, so glad to hear it was a great experience for you! We look forward to hosting you again.

Responded On Tuesday, 15 May 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 13 May 2018

Thank you for our mothers day experience, wasn't busy either so we got to experience 1st hand beautiful service and delicious food

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi R'Chee, so glad that it was a great Mothers Day for you at ours, thank you for leaving us some feedback - it has been passed onto the staff! We look forward to hosting you again.

Responded On Tuesday, 15 May 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 13 May 2018

Great food, especially the platters, along with a nice cold beer on the open deck on a nice sunny Sunday afternoon with the family!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Graeme, great to see you at ours again and glad it was a good afternoon for you and your group! We also love our relaxed Sunday vibes :) hope to see you again soon!

Responded On Tuesday, 15 May 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 13 May 2018

food and drinks were great except for the fact we got extra items added to our bill from another table. Be vigilant.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Ivy, thanks for sending us some feedback. Glad you liked the food and drinks and am sorry about the mistake - this would have been a simple human error and appreciate you telling us so we could fix it. We look forward to hosting you again! Kindest regards

Responded On Tuesday, 15 May 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 13 May 2018

There was a huge muck up with the payments and we didn't get the mothers day deal with a couple of meals . We did get money back for one after i argued it and they looked at the receipt more carefully but we worked it out later and there still was one more meal that we were charged for. The food was awesome and the staff and service was great. Only problem was that payment. Would suggest if you have a special like this again then don't take the 5 lowest paid meals off before you print off the bill and give it to the table. We had people that weren't mothers that walked out with free meals which kinda sucked for the mums that paid at the end

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Amy, sorry about the confusion with payments and we do appreciate you letting us know that there was a mistake. The Mothers Day special does get a bit confusing if the bill is split a few different ways (as your groups was) so it is something that we will look at for our terms and conditions for next year! Many thanks and hope you enjoyed the day :)

Responded On Tuesday, 15 May 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 05 May 2018

Really great food and service! Venue is awesome

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Catherine, so glad to hear you had a great time at our venue!! We hope we'll see you on a Saturday again - we've just launched a brand new weekly event so hope to see you there :)

Responded On Tuesday, 15 May 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 05 May 2018

When it caneto paying they guy made it into such a drama with splitting the bill, have never had that issue at a restaurant before.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 27 April 2018

Food was, by and large, excellent - we had a kitchen platter and the meat selection was excellent, except for the ribs which were mediocre - cooked OK but lacked flavour, especially compared to the rest of the platter. Beer was reasonable, on the expensive side but not outrageous.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 27 April 2018

Booked for last Friday And they booked the wrong week:(

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 21 April 2018

Great litttle place to hold my 21st.Lovely food. Couple of young staff constantly walking through the room during speeches, broke the atmosphere a little.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 12 April 2018

Great venue and team

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hey Andrew Thanks for hosting your event with us, was a pleasure and I'm glad to hear you were looked after. We look forward to hosting you again.

Responded On Friday, 13 April 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 10 April 2018

Epic. The staff are so friendly and hospitable there.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hey Samantha So glad to hear you had a great time at ours! We look forward to hosting you again.

Responded On Friday, 13 April 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 05 April 2018

Would've been nice to have music or something lively outside for a Thursday evening, good venue however very dull for entertainment.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi JT Thanks for your feedback! We did have a DJ on that evening? Their music does play to outside but sorry to hear that you felt the atmosphere wasn't there, good to know. Also would like to hear your feedback on the other areas as I see you've given us 2 stars on those, if you have a chance I'd love to hear from you - [email protected] Cheers!

Responded On Friday, 13 April 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 23 March 2018

We really enjoyed our function in the Velvet Room. Thank you.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Kiri So glad you had a great time! Was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to seeing you again. Kindest regards Theresa Sweat Shop Brew Kitchen

Responded On Tuesday, 03 April 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 25 March 2018

Motomail used to frequent Sweat Shop and returned after visiting other venues around the CBD. However, I won't book another work function there again. Last time I asked for table service and it didn't happen. After that experience, I emailed to ask if that was not something they offered anymore. I was assured they do and we would be well looked after if we returned. WE WEREN'T, so won't be back!!! Really great venue and excellent food but very poor service.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Marie Thanks for taking the time to write us some feedback, I'm sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your experience. In the last email we sent to you, we explained that drinks bookings at Sweat Shop (especially outside) are casual service, meaning you need to go to the bar to order. We always try and accomodate to each and every booking and take on requests, so would have been great to know in advance if this was the service you were after as would have done our best to accomodate. It's sad to hear that you won't be returning and do hope you change your mind! Many thanks for getting in touch.

Responded On Monday, 26 March 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 23 March 2018

The venue and overall atmosphere at the venue was amazing. Food and Drinks was good- a bit over priced but for the area was anticipated. Entertainment was the highlight for the night

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 23 March 2018

Have been here before, but took some first timers who absolutely loved it. We will definitely be coming back here again to wine & dine as well as dance the night away.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Tolai So glad to hear it was a great night for you! Thanks heaps for bringing some friends with you to enjoy the fun as well. We look forward to hosting you again.

Responded On Sunday, 25 March 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 23 March 2018

Had an awesome night...the band was 🔥 🔥 🔥

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Oskar So glad to hear you had an awesome night, and yes we agree, the band is amazing! Looking forward to hosting you again. Kindest regards

Responded On Sunday, 25 March 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 19 March 2018

A couple of members of my group didn’t have ID on them (we came after our touch rugby final) and were asked to leave even if they only had a soft drink so we all decided to leave. Find this a bit extreme as it was it was a Monday night and we wanted to celebrate our last team game not get totally smashed but it was fine as we went to La Zeppa with no issues. Will not be returning to sweatshop. If that is your policy then maybe make it clearer that people will literally be turned away from a group if they don’t have ID even if they have no intention of drinking.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Ailish We apologise that we had to ask many of your group to leave yesterday evening, and wanted an opportunity to further explain our reasoning. As much as we would have loved to host your group, we do operate under a supervised licence meaning that anyone under 18 needs to be with a parent or legal guardian to be on the premises, regardless of whether they are drinking alcohol or not. To ensure this, our policy (as instructed by the district licencing committee) is to ask anyone who looks under 25 to present a NZ drivers licence, passport or 18+ card as proof of age, which from what I understand some of your group weren’t able to provide. I understand that it was a special event for you and apologise again that we weren’t able to host you. I hope that you were able to continue your celebrations of your team’s rugby final elsewhere and go on to have a great night. We would love to host you again and would be more than happy to discuss if you had any further feedback for us - please email me [email protected] Kindest regards

Responded On Tuesday, 20 March 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 11 March 2018

Sweat Shop Brew Kitchen has been my venue of choice for relaxed Sunday lunch gatherings of family and friends for several years. We have always thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food is delicious, the staff are always welcoming, friendly, and professional and the ambience is We often have children with us and they are also welcomed and catered for. I highly recommend SSBK for your next group gathering or simply for a relaxed time out for two or a few..

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Maria Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely description of how your experience has been at our venue. We love hosting families and social events and we're delighted that you call us your preference for these. We look forward to hosting you again. Kindest regards, Theresa SSBK

Responded On Monday, 12 March 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 09 March 2018

Awesome vibe. Great food and the live band was amazing. Thanks guys

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Ilona Thanks for taking the time to write us some feedback. Glad you enjoyed our Friday night vibes!! We're about to go onto a new menu so glad to hear that our summer menu is still being enjoyed for its last few days!! We look forward to hosting you again. Kindest regards, Theresa SSBK

Responded On Monday, 12 March 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 02 March 2018

Thanks Sweat Shop Brew for an amazing experience! Food was great, service was outstanding and overall an awesome place for both Work and Social events! We will be back again soon :)

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Jasmina Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our venue, we really appreciate knowing when we've done well. We look forward to hosting you again! Kindest regards, Theresa SSBK

Responded On Monday, 12 March 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 02 March 2018

Staff were awesome!..we were soo well looked after & cant wait to go back! Great night out!!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Taryn Thanks so much for taking the time to write us some feedback, it's always great to hear when the service is particularly on point. We're so glad that it was a fab night for you and look forward to hosting you again. Kindest regards Theresa SSBK

Responded On Monday, 12 March 2018
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money