11 till late 7 days a week
- Disabled Access
- Families and Children Welcome
- Event Space
- Gluten Free Available
- Children's Menu available
About Rub Birmingham
A Southern US States Barbecue Experience, serving big portions of traditional low n slow meats, smoked over hickory. We smoke every fresh every day marinating the ribs, brisket, pork & chicken in our secret spice blend and then smoking for up to 16 hours.
With an amazing range of quirky cocktails based on gulity pleasures. We feed your inner ten year old.
Rub is a great environment for large groups in its fabulous party atmosphere and has some the best views over the canals in Birmingham.
Food isn’t great, we had nachos to start which were good and the brownies for dessert were lovely, but not impressed with mains, far too much batter on the ‘lightly dusted’ prawns, meat doesn’t taste like authentic smoked meat more like pre-packed. Portion sizes very generous and staff were fine.
Hi Louise, Thank you for the feedback, we really appreciate it. We're sorry to hear you felt disappointed with some of our food. At Rub our staff are always more than happy to replace any meals our customers are not happy with, did you mention any of the issues above to a member of our team at the time of your visit? If so, was anything done to rectify the experience? Please do email us back at [email protected] with any information you could supply us with. Kind regards and sincerest apologies, Rub.
For me its about quality rather than quantity. Ribs were tasty, brisket was dry, shrimps were covered in batter? Chips were good. Corn on the Cob was tasteless. No mocktails?
Hi Julie, Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We're sorry to hear you felt the quality on some of our dishes was slightly off point. We have spoken to your server who has informed us that she did a number of check backs to your table and at no point was any of this mentioned. At Rub we are always more than happy to exchange any meals our customers are not particularly happy with straight away, was there any particular reason why you felt you could have not expressed your issues with the food at the time of your meal? Although we do not have mocktails on our drinks menu, our bar staff are always more than happy to create some for our guests upon request, we have been told by our bartender that a mocktail was created at the time for you. We're extremely sorry if any of the issues mentioned took away from the Rub experience we like to provide our guests with. If there is any inaccurate information in this response please do email us back at [email protected] and we will get back to you as soon as possible. Kind regards, Rub.
The music needs to be turned down a little bit
Enjoyable time good food slightly expensive, good atmosphere although can get slightly too loud at times.
Hi Dan, Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. Kind regards, Rub.
Amazing food and absolutely brilliant portion sizes! Will definitely be back again!
Hi Rhys, Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it. See you soon! Kind regards, Rub.
Always been my friend groups favourite places to go eat. staff are always friendly and welcoming, topped off the with the superb food. Can’t wait to go again! 10/10
Hi Mike, Thank you so much for your amazing review. Keep coming back!! Kind regards, Rub.
Great food and drinks definitely be back
Hi Steven, Thank you so much for the awesome review, you should try our amazing desserts next time, they're just as Epic as our main menu! Kind regards, Rub.
First visit and the food was awesome. The quality as well as quantity was amazing.
Hi Dave, Thank you so much for the amazing feedback, come back soon! Kindest regards, Rub.
Lovely food couldn't finish it definitely be back , won free bottle of procesco
Hi Kerry, Thank you for the lovely feedback, glad to hear you got lucky and scored some prosecco! Keep playing to win some of our other amazing prizes. Kind regards, Rub.
Excellent food and drink
Service was a little slow when we asked for a couple of minutes more, she didn’t come back for 10 minutes. Also took a long time for her to some take money for the bill, we had to call her over. Food was lovely but overpriced for what it is
Hi Lucy, Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We're sorry to hear the service wasn't as quick as you would have liked, we really hope this does not deter you from returning to us. Kindest regards, Rub.
Great food I was very full and took the rest of my food home
Disappointed by the lack of toppings on the fries & quesadilla. They're not cheap so I expected more than a tiny dollop of brisket, and I've never had a quesadilla with less cheese. Service was excellent, nice venue, just the food isn't as epic as the pictures show.
Hi Sion, Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the filthy fries and the quesadilla, did you mention this to your server at the time? If so, what was done to rectify things for you? We'd love to find out more about your last visit, please do email us at [email protected] with any additional information you can give. Kindest regards and apologies, Rub.
Great service from Amy, food and cocktails were delicious!
Hi Thomas, Thank you for the great review, Amy has been notified! Come back soon. Kind regards, Rub.
Me and my family loved our evening here, we sat by the window which was open and had a beautiful view! Just what we wanted.
Hi Amy, Thank you for your lovely feedback! We're happy to hear you like our booths just as much as we do. Kind regards, Rub.
Real hearty food very nice cocktails(a little stronger perhaps :)) Great place to eat good selection of craft beers. Friendly staff Will return :)
Hi Jason, Thank you for the amazing feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, Rub.
Great service good food quite expensive
Food and cocktails were amazing staff were friendly ans helpfully definitely going back
Hi Sarah, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We're happy to hear our staff are doing us proud! Kind regards, Rub.
Our first choice cocktail was not available at the time we ordered which was unfortunate. The price of the meal in total was a little high but the food was delicious and the service was great.
Hi Sara, Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We're really sorry to hear you could not have your first choice of cocktail, how about you come back to us and we'll get you a round on the house as an apology for the inconvenience? If you would like to take us up on this offer email us at [email protected] and we'll get it sorted! Kindest regards, Rub.
Great service from Harri, fantastic food and you've actually become even better value for money since our last visit!
Hi Sean, Thank you so much for the lovely review, Harri has been notified! Come back soon for more Epic deals! Kindest regards, Rub.
Restaurant was almost empty... Staff were nice enough and the food came quickly. It was just about warm enough... Some parts not very warm like the fries and waffles... Burger and chicken were hot. Fries seemed quite hard and cooked twice... Not the worst experience I've had but not a great one... All in all it just left us feeling a little disappointed. I get the industrial look and i like it buy ghe tables feel greasy and could really do with a good clean. Thank you
Hi Ivan, Thank you for your review. Although we are known for the loud and enthusiastic atmosphere, during weekday lunch times we do tend to be a lot more quiet due to the fact we are located on Broad Street, an area mostly known for its nightlife. We're really sorry to hear you had some issues with your food, our servers are always happy to replace any meals which may not be up to our famous Rub standard. Did you mention anything to your server? If so, was anything done to rectify things for you? We'd love to learn more about your last experience with us, please do email us at [email protected] with any information you can give. Kindest regards, Rub.
Lovely food and atmosphere
Drinks were served in hot glasses which made drinks not as cold. Seating was uncomfortable. Special offers weren't discussed. Food was over priced. I had and 'Epic' sized brisket which was probably 3 slices of beef chopped up and a little dry. Music was very loud and often struggled to hear the waitresses. Children's burger was so small, compared to the size of the hotdog and chicken nuggets. Chicken nuggets were almost at the point I wasn't going to allow my daughter to eat them as they were so poor quality of meat. £12 for a Burger which I can't remember the name of it wasn't much bigger than the one for £6.75, not worth the extra £5 at all. Desserts were the best bit, but the waitress came over to explain after hearing us discussing how it worked as the possible duty manager didn't say anything about it just gave us the menu's and tickets... Crystal balls needed to read minds. Overall a horrendous experience and already told people actually how bad it was and how over rated and expensive it was. Over £80 for 3 kids and 3 adult meals which fries were shared... Ridiculous! If I receive more emails for feedback, I will report it under gdpr as I didn't opt in and your website makes you opt out, which is illegal now! Get up to date with the law changes!
Hi Daniel, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We're extremely sorry to hear you did not enjoy your last visit with us. We're not sure why your drinks were served on a hot glass as did is not something we usually do. Did you mention this to your server as I'm sure we would have been quite happy to replace those for you straight away. Our Tuesday deal is a 241 on our Epic meals however this must be quoted on arrival or at the time of booking as it is a special treat for those who follow us on social media. The Epic brisket contains 5 slices of brisket with gravy, our regular plate does in fact contain 3, could the server have misheard you and once again was this issue expressed as we always replace meals within minutes for anyone unhappy with their food. The junior burger is a slider and therefore we usually do recommend this for small children only. Our chicken nuggets are bought in from an outstanding supplier and is then cooked in house. Was there something specifically wrong with the nuggets or how they were cooked? I believe from the description you have provided you had the Chin Dribbler, although it isn't as big as the Epic burgers it does contain a more ingredients than the standard Rub Burger, hence why we price it higher. All Chin Dribblers include a beef patty, pulled pork, slaw, salad, our signature burger sauce along with a load of smoked cheese sauce? Were any of these ingredients missing from your burger? Our dessert orders can be both placed at the table or at the dessert parlour, we're very sorry this was not explained to you, this is not something we take lightly as we have a very high standard of service, we will be speaking to the staff that worked on this evening in order to investigate this further and take the correct action.We're sorry you feel your experience was horrendous, we truly hope you email us back with some more information at [email protected] in order for us to possibly rectify things for you. We have unsubscribed you, therefore you should no longer get any emails from us, our deepest apologies for the inconvenience. Kindest regards Jojo, Duty Manager.