Mon - Sun: 10:00am - 11.30pm
Sunday - Thursday: 11.00am - 9.30pm
Friday - Saturday: 11.00am - 10:00pm
- Disabled Access
- Free WiFi
- Families and Children Welcome
- Outside Seating Area
About On The Waterfront
Open for lunch and dinner, we are one of Exeter’s most popular places to eat. We are proud to serve only top quality, locally sourced food in our restaurant. We are also a Cask Marque accredited pub, which means you can be certain of a good pint of local ale as well as a selection of more widely known beers and lagers.
We are family friendly and boast a dining area for parties of up to 100 guests. Our heated terrace is perfectly located on Exeter’s picturesque quayside and is the ideal place to watch the world go by whether you are eating or drinking.
We waited over 40 minutes for garlic bread and nachos to share, and then nearly an hour for main course, We booked thinking this was an Italian restaurant. You don’t serve pasta, the steak wasn’t available and the pizzas are deep pan with no other option. They were incredibly doughy. The location is lovely on the river side, on a cobblestone front. Such a shame that the menu is more like an American diner
The place was very noisy with other parties in such close proximity. I wonder if too many were crammed in or we could have been unlucky. I would look for a quieter time to go for a more pleasant dining experience. Nice food.
I hadn’t been to the Waterfront for a few years & was very impressed with the changes to the layout that have been made. The upgrade to the decor has improved the ambiance & those taps in the toilets are state of the art ! I’d booked a table for 9 but ended up bringing 11 , that was no issue for the staff & they quickly moved us to a larger table. The service was excellent . They are obviously used to having large groups . The food was delicious , we all chose pizza the Waterfronts signature dish . I can recommend the Crispy Duck & Cowboy 🤠 Both were cooked to perfection. I would challenge anyone to find a better pizza anywhere else ! None of us managed to eat a full 12inch so the leftovers were boxed up for us to take home. A great evening spent with work colleagues in a fabulous venue . Thank you Waterfront team 👏🏻
Thank you very much for this wonderful review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you back again in the future.
Amazing food, quick and excellent service. One of my favourite restaurants in Exeter! (And thank you so much for catering for gluten free).
Thank you for this wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future for more delicious gluten free options!
Nice varity of puzza toppings but over priced.
Thank you for leaving us a review, though I'm sorry to hear you feel we are overpriced. As an independent restaurant who source most of our food from local suppliers we have to price our food and drink to be competitive while still offering the great quality our customers look for.
The food was very nice, we especially enjoyed the starters! The menu had so many choices we found it difficult to choose. The surroundings were lovely as was the venue. Will definitely return.
Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you back again in the future!
really great time had by all - thank you!!! The Waterfront team (both wait and bar staff) worked really hard to look after us and it was a really fun evening. Pizza was amazing, as always. thank you I would add that cutting the pizza was a little tricky ( didn't you used to have serrated wooden handled knives?) but that certainly didn't detract one little bit!
Thank you for this lovely review, we hope to see you back again soon!
Been coming here for 39 years. Not changed a bit and still awesome!
Lovely evening at The Waterfront and it's great to see that the vegan menu has been expanded since we last visited. The only downside to booking ahead is being sat in the room at the back which, although pretty, can get very, very noisy because of the accoustics. And it did!
Thank you for leaving us a review, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit but I apologise for the naturally loud acoustics of our restaurant rooms!
Very polite very friendly staff we thought it was a bit noisy at times whether that was because the underground venue or the people behind us being a little bit noisy I don't know but I'd highly recommend on the waterfront to anybody as it was a great venue thanks very much
Thank you for this kind review, though I apologise for the naturally loud acoustics in our restaurant rooms, this is an unfortunate side-effect of our beautiful location in the 'cellars' and despite our efforts there is very little we can do to improve this. I am glad to hear that otherwise you all enjoyed your visit however and we hope to see you back again soon.
Unfortunately we felt there were too many tables to cater for and as such service was compromised. Waited too long for drinks and food order to be taken. The ladies toilets was without paper in two toilets for at least an hour. Great location but wouldn’t rush back. Food - ok.
Marvellous meal at On The Waterfront Saturday evening. We were recommended it by a colleague who had visited a few weeks before. The visit was for my fiancées 33rd birthday, she (we) thought the pizzas were superb and the service great! The Boat Room was very cosy and intimate; will definitely be returning soon. Thank you.
"Hey pesto!" Pizza was too salty and overcooked, "spin and goat" did not taste of goats cheese, instead had too much mozzarella. Previous visits were much better having had the mushroom pizza that is no longer on the menu
Really nice food
Lovely food, buffet was good value however a bit for pizza variety would have been desirable.
Thank you for leaving us a review, though I'm sorry to hear you felt there was not enough variety in your buffet. You are always welcome to provide us with a list of your pizza preferences so we can cater for your party more effectively. We hope to see you back again in the future.
We have visited before but on this occasion the service was appalling. We were left standing at the designated area to be seated while three staff members had a chat. We then had to chase the waiting staff to take our drink and food order. Our food took over an hour to be served, despite three other tables within sight being seated after us and served before us. We were very disappointed and with a type 1 diabetic at our table also dangerous. Shambolic.
I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed on your recent visit. I will definitely be speaking to the staff working on that day to see why this was the case as this is definitely not the service we expect from our staff. Please ask to speak to a manager if you are ever unhappy during a visit so we can look to improve the situation for you.
Fantastic food, great atmosphere. Really enjoyed eating here and will definitely be back. The pizzas were amazing!
Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Quick service and delicious pizzas, thank you.
Thank you very much!
Before our booking we have around 50% of our party drop out unexpectantly and the deputy manager Emma was extremely helpful in amending our pre-order so a shout out to her is deserved. I felt on the night that the staff let us down a little bit as we offered drinks on arrival but not after this. I've rated the food as 3 out of 5 which might be a tad generous as our pizza was burnt and as a result, very dry and difficult to eat in places but other's looked nice. Overall I wouldn't be put off coming again but if the same things happened again, that would completely put me off.
Thank you for leaving us a review, I am glad to hear the organisation of your booking was smooth, though I'm sorry about the service you received on the night. I will definitely be speaking with those working that evening to find out what went wrong and where we can improve the situation for the future. We hope to see you back again soon.
Considering the restaurant really wasn't busy, the service wasn't great and we seemed to get forgotten about. Also had a fairly long wait for food, again considering it wasn't what you would call busy.
I'm sorry to hear about the lacklustre service you received on your recent visit. I will be mentioning this to staff to ensure that this does not happen again.
Food was very good but service very poor. On arrival we informed the waitress we were under time pressure but simple starter took 20 minutes to arrive and mains a further 30 minutes, so it had to be consumed in a rush, detracting from the whole meal
I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed in the service you received on your recent visit. We cook all our food fresh, and so when we are busy such as on Sunday lunchtimes this can mean waits of up to 30 minutes for food to be prepared and cooked.
Helpful staff. Good atmosphere. Delicious pizzas.
Thank you very much!
Service was terrible. Very slow, had to request service. Waitress pulled faces. Table beside us given free round of drinks due to wait, this happened to us on our previous visit. Will not be returning again, better restaurants on offer in Exeter. Shame as nice location.
I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed by the service you received on your recent visit. If you could provide us with some further details such as a description of the waitress in question this would be most appreciated. Our email address is [email protected]
Great lively atmosphere. Service was competent but not particularly friendly, although it was very busy so understandable. Pizzas were excellent.
Thank you for this kind review, I will pass on your comments to staff so we can improve our service in the future.
Late getting us to the table. The waitress took a further 30 minutes to take our order. Food to longer than average to arrive and the waitress seemed annoyed we asked where it was. When we paid the waitress must have had a bad evening or disliked us as she seemed really annoyed. All of us normally like Waterfront but will be staying away and going elsewhere for a while. Maybe just a bad night as its normally very good service
I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed by the service you received on your recent visit. If you can provide us with some further details such as a description of you waitress this would be much appreciated. Our email address is [email protected]