Mon - Sun: 10:00am - 11.30pm
Sunday - Thursday: 11.00am - 9.30pm
Friday - Saturday: 11.00am - 10:00pm
- Disabled Access
- Free WiFi
- Families and Children Welcome
- Outside Seating Area
About On The Waterfront
Open for lunch and dinner, we are one of Exeter’s most popular places to eat. We are proud to serve only top quality, locally sourced food in our restaurant. We are also a Cask Marque accredited pub, which means you can be certain of a good pint of local ale as well as a selection of more widely known beers and lagers.
We are family friendly and boast a dining area for parties of up to 100 guests. Our heated terrace is perfectly located on Exeter’s picturesque quayside and is the ideal place to watch the world go by whether you are eating or drinking.
Lots of lovely food enjoyed by everyone. Staff were helpful .
The service was excellent. Great location and good atmosphere. I was a little disappointed that our table was so small and we were crammed into a space that had a lot of people walking by. We had the set Christmas menu, which was really tasty. However my colleague had the veggie moussaka, and the vegetables weren't thoroughly cooked, and the portion was a lot smaller compared to everyone else's. Overall, a great night with colleagues.
We have taken school parties of teenagers to the Waterfront on several occasions over the last few years and have always been impressed with their willingness to accommodate us and their excellent service and value. We, and the children always love the food and the experience at On the Waterfront. Would definitely recommend.
Thank you so much for this lovely review, we love accommodating you all and we hope to see you back again in the future!
Had booked table for 6pm arrived early and waited until 6.10pm for table to be ready was then taken to a table with 2 to few seats so had to wait to sort. Had pre ordered food didn't arrive until 7pm !
I'm sorry to hear about the delays you experienced on your recent visit. We were extremely busy this past Saturday and your table was unfortunately booked online during a bug with the system where we should not have been able to book any more tables, so we were a little over capacity as we honoured your booking. I can only apologise that this caused such significant delays however this bug has now been fixed and should not be an issue in the future.
Lovely food, great service and atmosphere
An all round great experience at a superb location with some incredible food... Can not speak highly enough of this Restaurant! :)
Thank you so much! We loved having you and hope to see you back again soon!
Just had the company Christmas Party, was really good very happy with the service we received and the food was as amazing as always .
Thank you so much! Glad to hear you all enjoyed your Christmas party with us and we hope to see you back again in the future!
I booked this for a meal for my mums birthday on Saturday, it was absolutely perfect, Mum had ana amazing time and the kitchen staff even organised a birthday desert! Everything was beautiful Welldone and thank you, one happy customer :)
Thank you for this wonderful review, I'm so glad we were able to help make your mum's birthday so special, and we hope to see you back again soon!
Absolutely top quality as always, will visit time and time again, keep up the good work!
Thank you so much! We hope to see you back again soon!
Even though there were a number of xmas oarties and it was very busy the staff were very attentive and helpful and the food was amazing well done made a birthday meal very special
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Great service and food!
Thank you! We hope to see you back again soon!
We had a nice evening thank you, but it was very loud where we were sat, and you couldn't talk to anyone apart from the person next to you. A lot of people have complained about the food, the turkey pizza got a thumbs down, the pork burger wasn't very popular, too salty and tasted of sausage meat, and the turkey parcel was hard.
Thank you for leaving us a review. Unfortunately the acoustics of the building is asideeffect of our beautiful location and at the moment there is not any more soundproofing that is available to us for this. We try our best to keep noise levels to a suitable level but this is especially difficult on busy weekend evenings. Regarding the food, I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed in our Christmas menu. Overall we have received incredibly good feedback regarding this year's menu and so it is a shame it was not to your liking - please never hesitate to let a member of staff know at the time so we can look to improve the situation for you. I'm afraid regarding the burger, this tasted like sausage meat because it was a "pig in blanket burger" as stated on our menu - sausage meat wrapped in sorano ham - and this has overall been our most popular dish this year.
The Waterfront is one of my favourite restaurants in Exeter and this is why I suggested it for our work Christmas meal. Unfortunately, all of the starters were cold and the turkey parcel was so dry that it was inedible. The atmosphere and the service was brilliant however, just such a shame that the food let it down.
I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed by the food on your recent visit - please never hesitate to let a member of staff know at the time so we can look to improve the situation for you. I am glad that otherwise you enjoyed your evening and we hope to see you back again in the future.
Food was lovely, it was really busy but we didn't feel rushed to leave our table and everyone had a great time.
Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed your Christmas party with us and we hope to see you back again soon!
Great service and food
Very friendly and helpful staff, quick responses to all of my questions. Very nice food, dessert was enjoyed but the other courses were significantly preferred. Overall lovely evening, great venue for large groups.
Thank you for this lovely review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your Christmas party and we hope to see you again soon!
Staff could be trained slightly better with knowledge of big party bookings and the payments. Food menu at Christmas and the quality could be better, not many of our party enjoyed mains and desserts so that’s why I rated value for money less than I normally would, feel it could be much better.
I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed by the food on your recent visit - please always let a member of staff know at the time to see if there's anything they can do for you.
Great festive atmosphere with lovely food!
Thank you very much!
I was surprised that full payment was asked for prior to the date. I have not come across this before anywhere even at Christmas. I was going to book a normal lunch with 6 friends on Wednesday but the fact you have to pay £10 a head deposit even if you don't want the Christmas menu has put me off.
Thank you for leaving us a review. We ask for the full food payment in advance on any Christmas menu bookings this year due to being let down in previous years resulting in significant wastage. This is a policy lots of restaurants and hotels hold both locally and across the country for busy periods such as Christmas, however we are always willing to listen to customers and do whatever we can for them if this is not feasible, you only need to ask. We do not charge a deposit for small parties eating from our standard menu throughout December, only those of 12 or more.
Our waitress was lovely and very helpful
Thank you for this kind review, we hope to see you back again soon.
We all had an amazing night For my Son’s surprised 18th All the staff are amazing and so helpful, The food was awesome Thank you so much 😊
Thank you so much! We hope to see you back again soon!
Unfortunately the service was disappointing, if we had received the service of the table next to us however I would have said differently! Firstly despite arriving after us they were served first, when our food arrived it was simply just put on the table and the server walked away, we asked the girl who offered the table next to us sauces etc if we could have some too. Unlike the table next to us, our table was not cleared quickly, we were not offered extra drinks or dessert, which we had planned but due go the poor service we left without! The food however was delicious... despite not getting the extra toppings we ordered!
I'm sorry to hear about the disappointing service you received on your recent visit, this is certainly not what we like to hear. If you are able to provide us with a short description of your waitress please email us on [email protected] so we can schedule refresher training if necessary.
Drinks were expensive. Food was fab. Really lovely place. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Will be back. Thank you
Thank you for this kind review, unfortunately as an independent business but a tied-pub drinks prices are out of our hands as we are not able to purchase from anywhere else. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
A good night out as always
Was fantastic service and food was delicious will come back again.
Thank you so much, we look forward to seeing you in the future!