or
or

On The Waterfront

4-9 The Quay, Exeter, United Kingdom, EX2 4AP
Restaurant info
Opening Information

Mon - Sun: 10:00am - 11.30pm

Food Service:
Sunday - Thursday: 11.00am - 9.30pm
Friday - Saturday: 11.00am - 10:00pm

Facilities
  • Disabled Access
  • Free WiFi
  • Families and Children Welcome
  • Outside Seating Area

About On The Waterfront

Open for lunch and dinner, we are one of Exeter’s most popular places to eat. We are proud to serve only top quality, locally sourced food in our restaurant. We are also a Cask Marque accredited pub, which means you can be certain of a good pint of local ale as well as a selection of more widely known beers and lagers.

We are family friendly and boast a dining area for parties of up to 100 guests. Our heated terrace is perfectly located on Exeter’s picturesque quayside and is the ideal place to watch the world go by whether you are eating or drinking.

Cuisine: British
Dress Code: Smart Casual
Price point:
£ £ £ £ £

Availability

Available Offers
This offer has price variations on different days. View full details.
Description
Available Dates
This reservation cannot be modified online. Please contact the restaurant directly to update this reservation.
Avios will be awarded within 14 days from dining.
Select an Area
Offers Available
We currently do not have availability for the date and/or time you have selected. However we may still be able to accommodate you. Please continue to complete your enquiry by clicking "MAKE ENQUIRY" and a member of our team will be in contact soon.
The time you have requested is not available. Please try a different time or date.
Diners Review
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Sort By:
5 Stars:
904
4 Stars:
472
3 Stars:
184
2 Stars:
84
1 Star:
27
Visited On Sunday, 17 February 2019

Lovely family meal enjoyed by all.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you!

Responded On Thursday, 21 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 16 February 2019

Allways a pleasure having food / drink from you guys at waterfront every member I have seen has a smile on there face & all so polite & the service level is impeccable see you guys soon

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you so much for this stunning review! We really appreciate it and we hope to see you back again soon!

Responded On Thursday, 21 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 16 February 2019

Booked a couple days before and had a lovely table in the boat room. Food was great, most of us having delicious pizzas. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. Really beautiful location.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you so much! We hope to see you back again soon!

Responded On Tuesday, 19 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 16 February 2019

Service was a little slow (about an hour until we got our food) but the food was delicious and you could taste that it was fresh. The drinks were nice too. Overall it was a lovely evening.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for leaving us this kind review, though I am sorry to hear about the delays to service on your recent visit. We are always working to improve these and we hope you are able to join us again in the future to see this is the case!

Responded On Tuesday, 19 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 15 February 2019

Disappointed, we left after ordering dessert. Absolutely everything took far too long. Even waiting to be seated with a reservation. There was no one at the reception station and so we joined a gaggle of other people who all had reservations! After an hour and a half we had had one course and had waited 20 minutes for a dessert which comprised a single flavour of ice cream plus toppings. So we’re not taking Michelin star levels of preparation. Our lovely waiter did his best to put it right and took drinks off the bill. So the evening was salvaged and we left mollified. But it kind of spoilt what was supposed to be a lovely night out with our daughter. The following night we dined at pizza express. Three courses in the time it took you to bring out one. And service you could learn a thing or two about. Actually you could learn more than two things about. I suspect you are coasting on your reputation.....

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed on your recent visit but thank you for letting us know at the time so we could look to improve the situation for you. Unfortunately we were extremely busy this last weekend and this on top of being a little understaffed meant there were delays which we would have preferably avoided. We are currently in the process of hiring and training new staff however so we hope you are able to visit us again in the future to see this is not the level of service we expect or usually provide.

Responded On Tuesday, 19 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 15 February 2019

great service, friendly staff and the foid was all great

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you so much!

Responded On Tuesday, 19 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 14 February 2019

love this place me and my girlfriend came for our first date and returned for valentines it was very busy but still great food and great service

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you! We hope to see you back again for years to come!

Responded On Tuesday, 19 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 14 February 2019

Pizza’s were incredible

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you very much!

Responded On Tuesday, 19 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 14 February 2019

...

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you!

Responded On Tuesday, 19 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 14 February 2019

Brilliant pizza!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you!

Responded On Tuesday, 19 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 14 February 2019

It was really good here and the food and drink was amazing and the service was really good

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for this kind review. We hope to see you back again soon!

Responded On Tuesday, 19 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 14 February 2019

Service is slow food was late and incorrect and to be honest food wasn’t the best however it was a set menu we had we haven’t tried anything from other menu so my review is based on that night

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

I'm sorry to hear there were some delays and mistakes on your recent visit. This is not our usual level of service and I hope you're able to join us again in the future to see this is the case.

Responded On Tuesday, 19 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 11 February 2019

We bring a few groups here a year, and every time the service is great. Friendly staff, good food, great location.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you! So glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit and we hope to see you back again soon.

Responded On Thursday, 14 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 11 February 2019

Fab night, we were a group of 20 and food and service was great thanks x

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you very much! We hope to see you back again soon!

Responded On Thursday, 14 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 09 February 2019

We had a really nice time & the food was very good. The only criticism was the lack of chips for eight children in the set meal 2 tiny bowls, i asked for 2 more portions & was charged any extra £7.00.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for your feedback, I will pass this onto the management team for when we review our buffets with the launch of our new menu. This isn't a complaint we receive often so I will be sure to follow this up and see where we can improve for the future.

Responded On Thursday, 14 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 09 February 2019

Our table was booked for 7pm, we had pre-ordered....we were not served food until gone 9pm, we had drinks orders taken once every other time we had to go to the bar. When a member of staff was asked if he could take an order, was told that he had to clear a table instead. Honestly totally awful and no idea why you’d make us pre order if it was going to take you over 2 hours to bring out the food.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for leaving us a review. Unfortunately your party was late arriving on Saturday, and by the time your party had all arrived and sat down it was 7:45pm. This meant your food order was pushed behind other tables who had arrived in the mean time and your food arrived to the table by 8:30pm according to our CCTV. If we had cooked your food ready for your booking time at 7pm this would have been cold by the time you had arrived. I understand that you spoke to our supervisor on the night and appeared to all be happy with your meal and your experience in general so it is a shame to hear otherwise - please always mention any issues at the time so we can improve the situation for you then and there.

Responded On Tuesday, 12 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 09 February 2019

As previous reviews - service not great. Disappointed with pizzas very doughy, sent some back to be further cooked. Told we would have to wait 10 minutes as only 1 oven - no apology !!! Overall not great, would maybe go back in the summer and sit outside for drinks. But won't be going back for food 😕

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

I'm sorry to see you were disappointed on your recent visit. We were extremely busy on Saturday lunch time however this should not have affected the service you received and I am sorry if this was the case. Every pizza is made in the same way and put through the oven for the same amount of time so it is surprising that some of your pizzas didn't seem as well cooked as others. Unfortunately due to how pizza ovens work it does take 7 minutes to go back through the oven and so if you wish for your dish to be cooked longer it has to take this long. I will be speaking with the team who were working that day to see how we can improve for the future and we hope you see you back again soon.

Responded On Tuesday, 12 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 09 February 2019

At lunchtime, when we went, you may need to be patient as they can be very busy. We were informed of a 40 minute wait but our pizza came before that, top marks. Don’t mind waiting if you’re informed first off. The meal was amazing though. Oh and remember to book a table!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for your understanding regarding how busy we were this last Saturday lunchtime. We really appreciate it and we hope you're able to join us again soon.

Responded On Tuesday, 12 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 09 February 2019

The food was lovely, the decor beautiful in a fantastic setting. However the service was a bit slow (we were given free desserts as an apology for delayed food) but then the service remained poor, water top up forgotten, bill not brought for ages, no service for a good hour. We weren’t in a rush but there was no checking up on us, we’d have had more drinks if we could have!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

I'm sorry about the delays in service you encountered on your recent visit. I will be speaking with the team about what happened and where we can improve in the future and we hope to see you then.

Responded On Tuesday, 12 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 05 February 2019

Booking systems and service from team both very good - the buffet food had very mixed reviews across our small group (12) and all agreed would prefer to individually order from menu if we use the venue again - those that had used the venue before all thought there was a marked difference in quality (between menu and buffet). All staff were great, service prompt and location is very good.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for leaving us a review though my apologies you felt there was a difference in quality between the buffet and main menu. All our buffet dishes are taken from our main menu and cooked exactly the same, we have just put them together in a way that can save hassle and money for larger parties to order in advance. Parties are always welcome to order from our main menu instead however. We hope to see you again in the future to see this is the case.

Responded On Saturday, 09 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 02 February 2019

Only downside was not much meat on the duck pizzas that were ordered. Generally all good and very tasty food

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for leaving us a review, we have spoken to the pizza chef who was working that evening to ensure consistency with toppings across the board - we hope to see you back again soon to see we take all feedback on board!

Responded On Wednesday, 06 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 02 February 2019

Very satisfied

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you! We hope to see you back again soon!

Responded On Wednesday, 06 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 26 January 2019

I had a lovely evening for my birthday, the table had a cute decoration on it for the occasion as well. Service was quick and the food was amazing.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for this lovely review! I'm glad you enjoyed your birthday meal with us and we hope to see you back again in future!

Responded On Friday, 01 February 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 26 January 2019

Very well run restaurant! Staff friendly and efficient, quick service. Lovely food and drink, and great price and location. Will definitely be back!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you back again in the future!

Responded On Thursday, 31 January 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 26 January 2019

Food delicious. Full restaurant and service a bit slow, but food delicious nonetheless.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for leaving us a review though I'm sorry to hear you felt the service was slow on your recent visit. We were extremely busy on Saturday - uncharacteristically for January and this did therefore cause some small delays for which I apologise. We hope to see you back again in the future.

Responded On Thursday, 31 January 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money