Breakfast – Everyday 7.30am – 12pm (Breakfast buffet until 11am)
Lunch – Everyday 12pm – 3pm (Sundays 12pm – 4pm)
Afternoon Pickings – Everyday 3pm – 5:30pm (Sundays 4pm – 5:30pm)
Supper – Monday to Thursday 5:30pm – 10pm (Friday & Saturday 5:30pm – 10.30pm) (Sundays 5:30pm – 9.30pm)
Thursday to Saturday Crazy Eights bar open until 3am (Monday -Saturday) and 12am (Sundays).
- Disabled Access
- Private Dining
- Free WiFi
- Outside Seating Area
- Families and Children Welcome
About No.131 The Promenade
Classic on the outside, contemporary British on the inside, located in the heart of Cheltenham. Traditional classics & modern European dishes showcase the best seasonal ingredients in the restaurant. All ingredients are sourced and gathered locally wherever possible but always from British lands and shores.
Lovely meal in a gorgeous environment.
I couldn’t fault the quality of the food, drink or service, 131 is a real gem of a place. My only gripe is the price of the wine. I really liked the bottle we had and decided to buy some bottles privately. That’s when I found out about the £22 mark up! It is my only criticism on what was a great evening.
Delicious lunch, with great service and a relaxed, cool vibe in the restaurant. Our first meal at 131 and we’ll be back again soon!
This venue gets better and better!
We were attending an event at Cheltenham Literature Festival so booked the associated fixed price menu at 131 afterwards. Unfortunately the only "meat" selection on the menu was not available which was extremely disappointing. We were ready to leave without eating but the waitress spoke with the chef and my husband was able to chose from the main menu instead. Unfortunately this soured the experience so it will be a while before we return to 131.
Another super meal at 131, our second visit during the Literary Festival . We had a super time, food, service and the restaurant is so nice to eat in, such a lovely room. On both occasions our guests from London loved the restaurant. Thank you to everyone who made it such a very nice meal.
Once again the 131 team looked after our business brunch group amazingly well. My fault for not confirming the booking sooner, but they took on the zero notice and provided an excellent event. Looking forward to being back there in a few weeks......booking already confirmed this time!
awaiting response from the manager
Acceptable, barely, 8 quarter freshly made sandwiches, four bought in macaroons, 1 mini donut, 1 mini cheesecake, 1 Mill feille mini, 2 scones we cut the mini cakes in half making them even smaller to share, rather a mean serving for two, I had afternoon tea here in February it was completely different, on the basis of this visit I would not book the tea again.
The waiter had no time for us, we were their celebrating a friends 50th. Most items of food we wanted to order we were told was off the menu - finally chisel Scollops only to be told once again you had sold out. Asked for some bread whilst were were waiting for food only to be brought 1 piece of bread for 3 of us. He didn’t have a clue and really didn’t give a dam about serving us.. in the end I had to complain and the girls were super giving us a free bottle of wine but to be honest by this point the disappointment was clear. What a shame as we were so looking forward to dining at your restaurant.
Absolutely wonderful meal ... fabulous table and the waiter was so charming and helpful ...it was perfect . We loved every minute of being there , thank you so much for a very special lunch The Newman Family
The service was pleasant, but slow. We sat down at 12:00, our deserts still hadn't arrived by 13:45, and so we had to cancel one of the two orders. Being told that "the kitchen is busy" isn't good enough. A shame, and unlike our usual wholly +ve experience here. Mark Thomas.
Loved my stay. My room was amazing. Food was lovely. The staff were great, very helpful & friendly..Would definitely stay again. 5*
Amazing place great food beautiful building
Location is amazing, all staff are friendly and exceptional at what they do. Food and drink was amazing.
My wife and I had a most enjoyable Sunday evening with you. Our only disappointment was that none of the fish dishes on the menu (4 I think) were available. The service was very good and your people friendly and engaging.
I always love coming to No 131 and this hasn't put me off because it is such common practice wherever I go. By coincidence, myself and my colleague ordered both a Vegan and non-Vegan wild mushroom stroganoff, which gave us the opportunity to see them side-by-side. The non-Vegan portion as well as having more ingredients (expected) also included a more generous portion of stroganoff (which seemed unfair). Surely it would be sensible to provide an equally nutritious option to the person who is forgoing the proteins, oils and fats of dairy produce? i.e. don't starve the vegan!!! It's hard enough doing the right thing, incidents like this are a little demoralizing. Lovely place though 😊 Thank you.
The room we were sat in was lovely, and the staff were friendly. The presentation was very nice. However, I did feel that we were left on our own, with no opportunity given to order an extra drink etc. When we had finished our afternoon tea, we were not asked if we'd like anything further, rather a bill was unceremoniously dumped on the table. I realise the table was needed back by a certain time, but that was still half an hour away. The afternoon tea was mostly good, with nice sandwiches and scones, however the cakes were cold and had a taste like they'd been kept in the fridge too long.
131 is one of my favourite places for a drink and food in Cheltenham. I celebrated my birthday with afternoon tea which was lovely and later had a drinks in Gin&Juice. Unfortunately, my glass was broken which was a bit shocking for this type of place. However, we informed the staff and they changed all the glasses plus gave us free bottle of Fizz. Overall, It was very good experience.
Hi we were both quite disappointed with our experience yesterday, a special lunch for a birthday. Service was a little slow to get going, I had to ask for some bread, but that did come quickly once ordered. The wine list is ok however for a regular bottle of NZ Sav Blanc it was way over priced at £48. We both had the ribeye steaks, both ordered medium however, mine came out well done on the edges, and looked totally different to the other steak on my husbands plate much thinner too perhaps it was the flat iron instead. Both steaks really lacked flavour. The fries that accompanied the steak where thin frites, not fresh possibly from frozen and not hand cut chunky what you would expect from a restaurant of the calibre. The creamy spinach was very runny. We both ordered dessert, my sticky toffee was lovely, however my husband ordered a roulade which was thin and looked out of a jam roly poly packet from the supermarket. Desserts were priced at £7-8 pounds quite expensive too for not home made fresh. We left feeling we couldn't recommend this place to friends nor would we be in a rush to return a real shame because its a great location and lovely atmosphere.
All of the staff were really friendly and accommodating, it was my partners birthday and they were great with a Prosecco to start and a candle in our pudding! Very attentive and excellent service!
We had a fantastic evening celebrating our youngest daughters’s Graduation. The food service & atmosphere superb & wecompleted our evening in The Gin & Juice Bar, definitely a memorable evening. Thank you & we will return again. Pauline Moore
The hotel had the wow factor as soon as we walked in the door and was the luxury that I hoped for as a birthday treat for my partner. Impressive attentive and friendly service, exquisite decor, a stunning room, divine food and the Gin and Juice bar was the cherry on the cake. After a beautiful evening our relaxing retreat was cut short the following morning by building works outside our bedroom window. As the works were connected to the hotel, I was sorely disappointed to not have been warned of the potential disruption that started at 7.30 on the Sunday morning. Having paid for the ‘Great Escape’ package which included late check out and breakfast in bed, the experience was negatively impacted which otherwise would have been perfect. Building deadlines aside there should have been more thought given to the customer experience especially on the basis on how expensive the over night stay had been. On this basis I wouldn’t recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing luxury retreat as we were.
Food was amazing. The sunday roast was first class!! The staff were so attentive and made sure we were always catered to. Will definitely be returning. Thanks for a great lunch. Especially the young blonde lady whose first shift it was. She was very polite and very helpful. Thankyou x
Food and service was excellent. Also went to the Gin bar afterwards, only negative was that we had to wait a long time to be served at the bar. Will definitely return and recommend to friends.