Mr. Good Guy

173 Macquarie Street, Hobart, Australia, 7000
Restaurant info
Opening Information

Open every day:
Breakfast 6:30-10:30
Lunch 11:30-16:00
Dinner 16:00-22:00

Facilities
  • Disabled Access
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Well Behaved Children Welcome
  • Vegetarian choice
  • Veg and Non Veg Mains
  • Takeaway
  • Swimming Pool
  • restaurant facilitys
  • Private Functions
  • Internet
  • Group Bookings & Set Menus Available
  • Great Service
  • Gluten Free
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Entrees
  • Dietary Needs Catered For
  • Corporate Events
  • Cocktails
  • Catering
  • Bathroom
  • Bar
  • Alfresco Dining
  • Accommodation

About Mr. Good Guy

Mr. Good Guy is a South East Asian hawker-style restaurant in the centre of Hobart city. We specialise in fresh food and good times. Our Executive Chef Andrew Third, the 'Wok Jockey', is passionate about using local Tasmanian produce in our food.

Mr. Good Guy is an expression common throughout asia, meaning a friendly stranger that you would like to meet. Remember, there are no such things as strangers, only friends that you haven't met yet.

Come eat and drink with us, Mr. Good Guy would love to show you fun tims!

Cuisine: Asian Fusion
Dress Code: Casual,Smart Casual
Price point:
$ $ $ $ $

Availability

Available Offers
This offer has price variations on different days. View full details.
Description
Available Dates
This reservation cannot be modified online. Please contact the restaurant directly to update this reservation.
Edit / Cancel Reservation
Diners Review
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Sort By:
5 Stars:
95
4 Stars:
28
3 Stars:
15
2 Stars:
10
1 Star:
3
Visited On Monday, 24 June 2019

We celebrated my daughters birthday with a banquet on Monday night with 22 family members (first time for all of us). The service & food that we received was faultless and the staff were very happy, friendly and the Management of Mr Good Guy should be very proud of their staff that was roster on that evening as they are a credit to your business. We will defiantly be coming back every single on of us. So thank you for an enjoyable night.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Sandra, Thank you for such amazing feedback. We are so happy that we could give your whole family an amazing experience for your daughters birthday! We can't wait to welcome you all back again soon. Thank you, Grace

Responded On Wednesday, 26 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 14 June 2019

Good service, food OK but nothing amazing. On the expensive side for the quality of the food and size of servings.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Brian, Thanks for providing your feedback. Glad the team could look after you. Sorry that your experience was not everything you wanted it to be. We will certainly take your feedback on board. Thanks again, Grace

Responded On Friday, 21 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 14 June 2019

Great food and friendly staff, I will be back for sure

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Jaye, Thanks for the great review! We are so glad you had such a a nice time and that the team looked after you. We'll see you again soon. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Sunday, 16 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 08 June 2019

Really enjoyed the meal and atmosphere. Very much appreciated the way they catered for special food requirements.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Julia & Luke, Thanks for the great review, we are so glad that you had such a nice time! We understand that people have a lot of dietaries these days so we want to make sure we can adapt our meals so that everyone can try Mr Good Guy. We look forward to the next time you both are in. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Tuesday, 11 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 07 June 2019

Fantastic service. Excellent food. Highly recommend. Great value for money, enjoyable casual atmosphere.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Kath, Glad you had a great time and that the team looked after you. We look forward to the next time you are in. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Tuesday, 11 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 07 June 2019

Great Food

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Jon, Glad you enjoyed it! We look forward to the next time you dine with us. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Tuesday, 11 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 30 May 2019

Amazing Food and Great Service!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Sarah! So great to hear that you had such a fantastic time! We look forward to the next time you're in. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Tuesday, 04 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 24 May 2019

The banquet was not worth $45 pp. each dish took too long to come out. The Brussel sprouts tasted burnt. Will come back to try a dish off the menu to see if is better quality

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Belinda, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback from your dining experience. I am sorry that you did not have a great experience and to hear that our food was not up to our usual high standard. I will talk with the Head Chef and the restaurant team and pass on your feedback so they can look into it. Hopefully we have the chance to better serve you in the future. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Monday, 27 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 23 May 2019

A lovely dining experience, our waitress was the key to our whole experience! Will be bringing all my friends and family here

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Stephanie, Thank you for the amazing review, I'm glad you had such a great time and that our team looked after you. They are a great bunch. We look forward to seeing you and your family and friends next time. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Sunday, 26 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 21 May 2019

The frozen icecream was amazing

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Katie, Glad to hear you loved it! It's a new item on the menu, you'll have to come back and get it again next time. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Thursday, 23 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 21 May 2019

Great food with fantastic flavours and well priced. Had a selection of 6 small plates (tapas style), all with generous servings.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Peter, Thanks for the awesome review! I’m glad you had such a great experience and had such a flavour filled time. Looking forward to the next time you dine with us. Thanks Grace

Responded On Thursday, 23 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 17 May 2019

Very disappointing experience. We were seated on a table in the bar - I booked a table months ago so expected it would be in the dining room!! Because we were in a "traffic area" there was no atmosphere whatsoever. Must say the girls were very obliging and on the ball but the meal was disgusting. 2 of us ordered "Slow cooked porterhouse". This cut of meat should be very tender even if pan fried for a few minutes so "slow cooked" should melt in the mouth. It was very pink!!!! How can it be when it has been slow cooked???? Not only that, but it was tough!! I often have porterhouse cooked "medium rare" and it is very tender so this was obviously a cheap piece, and definitely NOT slow cooked. We also ordered a side of steamed vegetables - thrown into a dish all together and this time over cooked!! Had a very nice bottle of Bancroft shiraz! The pandan fried custard was delicious.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Margaret, Thank you for your feedback. Let me firstly apologise that you did not have a great experience- that is certainly not what we want. And I’m sorry that you were not seated in our usual dining area on the night. We gracefully receive all feedback, both positive and constructive in order for us to make improvements to the quality of the services and food we provide. We have recently launched a few new items on the menu, so some dishes will need to be adjusted. I have shared your comments with the restaurant team and Head Chef to address some of these issues. We hope to have the chance to see you back in the restaurant in the future and deliver a more positive dining experience. Thanks Caylen, Bar + Restaurant Manager

Responded On Thursday, 23 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 17 May 2019

It was really disappointing to attend for our meal. We chose the banquet for 6 people. We had 2 guests that had dietary requirements and were told they couldn’t eat the food but then they could at the end. We then ordered roti and fried ice cream to be told that they had been sold out. We asked for the bill then had to wait 30 minutes and not get it then had to wait another 20 minutes to pay the bill.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Brittany, Thank you for your feedback. Let me firstly apologise that you did not have a great experience- that is certainly not what we want. I have shared your comments with the restaurant team and Head Chef to address some of these issues and the miscommunication. We hope to have the chance to see you back in the restaurant in the future and deliver a more positive and seamless dining experience. Thanks Caylen, Bar + Restaurant Manager

Responded On Thursday, 23 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 16 May 2019

The entree pork belly was amazing and so was the fried chicken bao bun but the red chicken curry was the worst I’ve ever tasted. No flavour at all and served on a bone which is not what you expect with a curry. Took me so long to be served. A table walked in before me and got served faster.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Stephanie, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We've recently launched some new dishes, so your comments will be valuable in tweaking these flavours to ensure they pack a punch in the future. Sorry the service wasn’t up to our usual standard, but thank you for your constructive feedback and hopefully it can be a more seamless experience next time you dine with us. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Monday, 20 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 14 May 2019

Very enjoyable meal & great service

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Maree, Thanks for the great feedback! Glad you had such a great time. We look forward to seeing you next time, thanks Grace

Responded On Monday, 20 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 14 May 2019

Fabulous food, amazing atmosphere - outstanding experience!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Courtney, Thanks for the great review. It's so nice to hear you had such an amazing time. See you again soon. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Thursday, 16 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 12 May 2019

Went for Mothers day Lunch, magnificent food, good portions in each bowl as on the day it was yum cha - tapas style, great value for money and the service was efficient with a smile. would highly recommend to anyone.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi David, Thanks for your your amazing feedback on our Mother's Day Yum Day event. Glad you had such a good time, we'll hopefully do a few more later in the year. Hopefully we'll see you there for round two. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Thursday, 16 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 12 May 2019

I loved my meal at Mr Good Guy. Went for the Mother's Day Yum Cha - food was delicious, each plate had individual flavors and food was fresh and tasty. Service was fast, friendly and efficient. Was pleasantly surprised with price too - would definitely recommend and would definitely go again!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Nikki, Glad to hear you had such a great time at our Mother's Day Yum Cha event. We can't wait to see you back for the next one! Thanks, Grace

Responded On Thursday, 16 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 03 May 2019

Second visit on Friday night. First visit was 5 star! Seating was not conducive to a large party (ie 7pax) for a birthday. Slow to get first drinks and orders taken. Lack of enthusiasm and willingness to be helpful from one specific staff member was a huge downer. In fact people coming in after us were served prior. Slightly dissappointed, but will be back.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Mark, Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback. Sorry the service wasn’t up to our usual standard, but thank you for your constructive feedback and hopefully it can be a more seamless experience next time you dine with us. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Monday, 06 May 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 04 April 2019

Service of food was fast and that was excellent, however removal of finished plates was slow. We asked for a half serve of one dish and that was allowed so we were very pleased. Half serves allow you to try more choices.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 27 April 2019

They didn't have the wallaby curry which was the reason I went there, but all good. I ordered the veggie curry which ended up being very watery, more like a soup than a curry. The scallops were quite flavourless and lacked seasoning. So my answer unfortunately is that I won't be coming back or recommending, sorry.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Lucila, Thanks for the feedback. I’m sorry that you did not have a great experience and that the food was not up to our usual high standard- that is certainly not what we want. I will pass on your feedback and let the Head Chef know. We hope to have the chance to see you back in the restaurant in the future and deliver a more positive dining experience. Thanks Grace

Responded On Monday, 29 April 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 26 April 2019

We shall be returning back to you next time we need a Asian food hit.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Mike, Thanks for the review! Glad you had such a fantastic review. We look forward to the next time you need an Asian hit! Thanks, Grace

Responded On Monday, 29 April 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 26 April 2019

Loved the food, yummy!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Brodie, Thanks for the the great review, glad you had such a great time. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Monday, 29 April 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 25 April 2019

Very happy, the main waitress was a little abrupt but nothing too bad.... food was amazing, excellent value for money.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Ashe, Thanks for your review. Glad you had such a nice time. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Monday, 29 April 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 23 April 2019

Food lack of cuisine taste.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Kenny, Thank you for your feedback. We hope we have a chance in the future to better serve you. Thanks, Grace

Responded On Monday, 29 April 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money