Loft

23B George Street, St Albans, United Kingdom, AL3 4ES
Restaurant info
Opening Information

Open Tuesday - Saturday
Tuesday - Thursday: 12:00 to 15:00 | 18.00 - 22:00
Friday & Saturday: 12.00 - 15.00 | 17.30 - 22.00
Sunday: Family Feast 12 - 15.00 with children's entertainment

Facilities
  • Private Dining
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor Seating
  • Families and Children Welcome
  • Weddings and Other Private Parties Catered for
  • Gluten Free Available
  • Dietary Needs Catered For
  • Children's Menu available
  • Business Lunch
  • Bar

About Loft

Loft is listed in the Good Food Guide 2019 and 2020 ‘We deliver accomplished modern British food – clean flavours and creative dishes driven by seasonal produce of impeccable pedigree sum up the approach.‘ Loft also won Hertfordshire Restaurant of the Year at the SME Business Awards.

Loft also received LUX Life Restaurant & Bar award in 2019 & 2020.In 2020 Loft St Albans was awarded as the ‘Best Fine Dining Restaurant’ & ‘LUX Culinary Excellence Award for Contemporary British Cuisine 2020‘.In 2019 Loft St Albans was awarded as the ‘Best Upscale Contemporary Restaurant 2019′ for Hertfordshire.

Cuisine: Contemporary, British, European, Locally Sourced, Seafood, Steak, Sunday Lunch, Vegan Friendly, Vegetarian Friendly
Dress Code: Smart Casual
Price point:
£ £ £ £ £

Availability

Available Offers
This offer has price variations on different days. View full details.
Description
Available Dates
This reservation cannot be modified online. Please contact the restaurant directly to update this reservation.
Edit / Cancel Reservation
Diners Review
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Sort By:
5 Stars:
405
4 Stars:
112
3 Stars:
40
2 Stars:
21
1 Star:
6
Visited On Wednesday, 04 November 2020

Very good food, prepared to the highest standard and good veggie options. Lovely interior, like an old barn. Great cocktails too

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 04 November 2020

We enjoyed our lunch a lot. I have given a low atmosphere rating as we were the only ones there for most of our lunch. The place is lovely and we were treated really well. The food was delicious and we will return after lockdown.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 03 November 2020

We were disappointed with the quality of the food and the atmosphere. For a restaurant listed in “the good food guide” and displaying an award for best fine dining in St Albans, we were expecting more. It appears as though the restaurant might have changed hands since it’s listing in the good food guide. The loud 80s playlist felt out of place for an “upscale contemporary restaurant”, and whilst the food photos look amazing on the website, they were disappointing in person. Similarly, the menu sounded great, but our meal was below expectations for the price. On a positive note, the staff were pleasant and the sticky toffee pudding was pretty tasty.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 31 October 2020

The service was great. Very friendly staff and atmosphere. The food was very good quality and delicious. Will return for a special occasion. Drinks were quite pricey though.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 30 October 2020

Staff was excellent

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 31 October 2020

Great food, portions were perfect so you could comfortably have 3 courses

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 30 October 2020

I will definitely return, a hidden gem!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 23 October 2020

Food was great and very helpful and friendly staff

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 24 October 2020

Lovely evening, good food and drinks. Will visit again

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 24 October 2020

Great evening. Fantastic food. Very nice attentive staff. Would definitely recommend

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 20 October 2020

The food and drink were excellent in terms of taste and presentation. The service was pretty shoddy, no one knew the menu or the cocktail list. My partner ordered lamb (served with potatoes) and the menu recommended a side of root vegetables. The side dish arrived; a bowl of potatoes and three carrots. A potato isn't even a root vegetable, but besides that, why would you recommend potatoes with a side of potatoes? If they were short on veg supply they should have been honest. Instead they were bamboozled at why we didn't want more potatoes. We had it switched for green beans but there was very little apology or explanation. Disappointing in a restaurant of this price and calibre. There's no point having a great chef, making excellent food if the waiters can't communicate effectively.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 18 October 2020

Lovely Sunday lunch , generous portions , very good bottle of red Italian wine

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 17 October 2020

The food was great but service was terrible as they were obviously overbooked. Considering the price of the meal it was extremely disappointing to be kept waiting for so long - drinks only arrived half way through the meal and we were given the wrong drinks. It’s not the service staff’s fault - completely down to poor management but nonetheless expected better. Also it was mentioned that the servers were not being given their tips which is absolutely unacceptable practice.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 16 October 2020

My husband was still chewing his last mouthful of starter when you whipped the plates away and bought the main course. We were finished within 45 mins of entering the restaurant. I’m still annoyed now. I’ll never come back.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 15 October 2020

Chairs and tables should be upgraded they look cheap and are very uncomfortable and not up to the standard of everything else.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 15 October 2020

Absolutely superb as always. Great service, great food, great wine

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 10 October 2020

Given we chose Loft to go a bit upmarket as a special celebration, we were very disappointed. It was beyond crowded - there was clearly no social distancing - at a critical time with regards to COVID. When we arrived it looked like there was spacing with some empty tables but quickly realised this was a function of arriving early. My back was literally touching the chair of the person behind (as was my husbands) with another table jammed down the middle row - I could have touched the man to my left if I had put my hand out. I know businesses are trying to keep afloat but they have to be responsible to keep their customers safe. We had 3 people serving us at the beginning - so all were asking the same thing and then our starters were forgotten until we asked. The food was great (once it arrived) and Is a lovely setting - but I’ve been to a few places in recent weeks and have never felt so unsafe with regards to Covid. Only one waiter wore gloves, every other waiter picked up our glasses, handled everything. We won’t be back until after Covid.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Sharon, Thanks for your time writing the feedback for us and raising the issue on social distancing. We have considered all safety measure as per govt guidelines and advice. All guests checked for Temperature, Wearing mask and use the regular sanitizing hands. There is always area for improvement. We have taken few more steps to set up the layout and giving more space as much as we can to avoid the close connection. I hope you have enjoyed the food and Drinks. Thanks again for your time. Cheers, Loft Team

Responded On Wednesday, 14 October 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 09 October 2020

In the current circumstances I felt the restaurant was overbooked (I appreciate it must be very difficult but the space between tables did not seem to have been increased from normal circumstances). I would sat however that the staff were very careful, wore masks and gloves and temp check at the door. Over all I enjoyed the experience but would maybe wait for the COVID issue to be resolved before returning.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 07 October 2020

Lovely little venue in the heart of St Albans, the space cleverly planned, and simply but beautifully decorated. Food and service were great, we would highly recommend. The signature Loft cocktail is also a must!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 07 October 2020

First visit in a while and it didn't disappoint. Am not vegetarian but I opted for veggie starter and main, and both were delicious. Good value wine list, and great service. Highly recommend.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 06 October 2020

We very much enjoyed our starters and my husband liked his main of lamb. I was disappointed with my duck which was dry and, even thought I ordered sides, they didn't come until I had basically finished my main which meant I didn't eat them.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 06 October 2020

Service was a little slow and the food was average at best. The steak was over cooked, the Diane sauce was incorrectly flavoured and the vegetables inadequately seasoned. This ingredients themselves seemed to be of good quality, it was just that extra bit of care and attention on cooking and finishing

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 03 October 2020

Lovely food and great service.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 03 October 2020

First time at The Loft. Excellent service and great food 👌

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 02 October 2020

Did not feel very Covid secure - Tables too close together, staff not wearing masks covering their nose, too much contact with table - topping up water, constantly asking if we needed anything etc. On the plus side the food and drinks were delicious

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money