Tue - Fri: 12.00pm - Late
- Full Bar
About Crab Shack Auckland
As you wander down Quay Street you simply can’t miss Crab Shack’s waterfront location. Inside this iconic Princes Wharf restaurant, you’ll join many other hungry diners who are ready to indulge in a seafood feast. From crab legs to a classic meal of fish & chips, their menu will go down a treat. All dishes can be well enjoyed either inside their quirky nautical interior or outside amongst the breezy waterside decks.
Thank you for a wonderful experience, as a first time visitor to the Crabshack. I would definitely visit again.
Hi Anton, Thanks so much for your great review... Hopefully we get to see you again soon!!!
Crab Shack is one of our go-tos; we’ve never had any complaints! The atmosphere is absolutely amazing, staff are wonderful and menu is appetising. Well done to the management, staff and business as a whole!
Hi Rachael, Thanks for the great review, see you again soon!!!
The service was really good - food came fast and the staff were really friendly. The lady who attended to us was great! The food was delicious! Our favourites were the crayfish and prawn roll and the mac and cheese. It can become a bit pricey but would definitely recommend coming for a special night out with family!
Hi Megan, Thanks for the great review! hope we get to host you again soon!!!
Great food - esp the Lobster roll! Good value too.
Hi Chantal, Thanks so much for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed yourself and hopefully we see you again soon.
Kind crab was disgusting. Not worth the money at all. Like I said I could cook better at home 🤣🤣. Steak was mint and roll just not the crab .
Hi Tuki, Sorry that you didn't enjoy your crab. Next time let us know if you have any issues with your food and we will do our best to put it right at the time... Very glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your food!
I'm sad to see that the food quality and taste has declined. Half of our table was unhappy with the food. We've been to crab shack few times before and it's been amazing hence why we picked it to celebrate an occasion. Unfortunately, we left disappointed. Our server was amazing all night. Service was great. I hope crab shack can regain the food quality - especially the king crab.
Hi Abigail, I'm very sorry that the food was not up to standard on your visit. We are always trying our best however sometimes we mess it up. Next time you are in, please let us know if you have an issue with your food. We are more than happy to try and fix the situation at the time. Glad you enjoyed the service and we hope to see you again soon...
We thank you for such great service, hospitality and such a perfect atmosphere. We did however, not receive the 2 × chicken wings ordered. As we ordered so much, it was not noticed until we had left, that the chicken wings were not served. Hope to from you soon.
Hi Nat, Sorry If there was any confusion, but we only serve chicken wings from 4-7pm during our happy hour. I have checked the receipts from your table and the only chicken ordered was the bang bang chicken salad. If you would like to receive a copy please contact me at [email protected]
-Quick service -Nice food -Worth your money -Friendly, helpful staff -Clean
Hi Kaleigh, Glad you enjoyed yourself, hope to see you again soon!
Absolutely amazing! Delicious food, amazing service. Will definitely be back! Well done crab shack team.
Hi Jessie, Glad you guys enjoyed yourselves! Hope to see you again soon!!!
Yummy food. Would defiantly go again. great seafood chowder.
Hi Darryl, Thanks for the feedback!!!
Excellent service and great food. Would definitely recommend.
Hi Robyn, Thanks for the great feedback!
We had seen a lot of posts about the crab shack and thought next time we are in Auckland we need to try this kai.... Warm welcome as soon as we arrived the atmosphere was lovely and the service was amazing! The cocktails we had were yummy and not overly strong the food was beautiful. this was our first visit to the crab shack but it definitely won't be the last💯🙌 we are keen to try the seafood boil too.
Hey Amanda, Really glad to hear that you enjoyed your Crab Shack experience. Next months Boil Up is in its early creative stage but we should be able to release a date soon!!!
First time been here, highly recommended. All dishes were nice and full of flavor. Me and my friends were all enjoyed. Only one thing wants to mention, the mud crab was a little bit too hard to eat. 🤣
Hi Frances, Glad you enjoyed yourself. The mud crab does take some time to eat, thats why we provide the picks and crackers to get into it faster!
Delicious fresh oysters and cocktails + great setting and friendly team - everyone enjoyed the evening & I will be back to try the crab.
Hi Lydia, Glad you enjoyed yourself and we will see you again soon!
Had a great time. Atmosphere was welcoming & warming. Staff were friendly & pleasant. Service was top knotch & the food was with us so quickly we were surprised. The food was delicious. As food was being delivered to other tables we found ourselves staring at the wonderful treats, we've already decided what we are having when we come next. The only down side was the cost of parking, that was ridiculous.
Hi Martha, Glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves! Next time I would recommend parking in the downtown car park (1 blocks walk away) they are a lot cheaper than on the wharf... hopefully see you again soon!
Good view and good service and good drinks! Nice place to hang out with friends and colleagues.
Thanks Toni! Glad you enjoyed yourselves!
Wasnt what i expected, bit of a dissapointment i wouldnt go bak unless it was free
Hi Melaney, Sorry that you didn't enjoy your Crab Shack experience. We realise we aren't for everyone. Thanks for the feedback
Hi Paul, thanks for the feedback!!!
The food was great, flavour of the king crab was amazing but I feel the crab was a-bit over dry.
Hi Chungngy, Thanks for the feedback, I will pass it on to my chefs, glad you loved the flavours!
My children loved coming here today as the found the colouring in soooo good while waiting for their kai!! Will definitely be back x
Great food, friendly service and a decent price.
Thanks for the great review Vincent... See you again soon!
I’ve come to Crab Shack several times in the past few years but unfortunately tonight the quality of food was noticeably different / worse compared to my past experiences. Have noticed that portion sizes have been decreased substantially, little things such as the fries that were ordered - we noticed that a majority of the fries were the small bitty off-cuts. Small things like this are noticed and gives off the vibe that the business is cutting corners/making shortcuts to make more profit out of lower quality of food, which doesn’t feel like good value for money. Have ordered crab several times in the past where both the crab and sauce were cooked and served in a single bowl to allow the sauce to flavour and soak into the crab but tonight, the crab and the sauce were served separately in two different bowls which I found was different and less flavourful to how it has been served in the past, crab was also very dry and tough to eat. Unfortunate to see that the quality of one of my favourite restaurants has seemed to gone downhill
Hi Anna, Sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your experience with us this last visit. Our portion sizes have changed - as has our whole menu when we moved to our new site in October last year to make things more streamlined and consistent . We have been challenged on our fries a couple of times recently and have since your visit, changed to a new supplier to rectify the problem in quality as you describe of them being “bitty off-cuts”. They are now a more traditional French fry and I will be keeping close tabs on the quality. As far as the crab being served in a separate dish from the sauce, this was so that guests could choose whether to dunk the crab in or not, however we have now switched to asking if you would like the sauce on top or on the side at the point of sale so that you get to choose how you would like it. Please rest assured that we take your feedback very seriously and that we are always trying to improve our offerings, whether they be food or beverage and we hope to see you back again in the future. Regards, Alex Willacy Restaurant Manager
Fish n chips, mud crab, steak, baked potato etc was yummy. We caught the happy hour, oysters were great. Cocktails nice, Waiter was cool English dude. It wasn’t busy so good atmosphere! Now Even though steak had to be recooked to well done and kids didn’t get free desert promised by waiter lol overall very happy!
Hi Jack, Glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself - despite a couple of muck-ups on our part which I apologize for. Let me know when you are next in and I will honour the offer of free dessert for your kids! regards, Alex Willacy Restaurant Manager
Absolutely loved this place, from the venue to the outstanding service and the food was spectacular too. Thank you guys!!
Hi Carol-Ann, Glad you loved this place as much as we do!!! Can't wait until you come and see us again...
Food was very greasy & overpriced.
Hi Mel, I am very sorry you were disappointed with your meal with us... The tempora soft shell crab is deep fried and the Crayfish and prawn roll is advertised as having a buttered roll. Both meals are designed so that they are messy. I am very sorry if they were overly greasy for you though. Hopefully you will give us another go and can try some of our other great menu options that we have available in the future!