Coal Grill and Bar Sheffield

57 The Oasis, Meadowhall centre, Sheffield, United Kingdom, S9 1EP
Restaurant info
Opening Information

Monday - Sunday 09:00 - 23:00

Facilities
  • Disabled Access
  • Free WiFi
  • Outdoor Seating
  • Families and Children Welcome

About Coal Grill and Bar Sheffield

Smoke house flavours

Cuisine: BBQ & Grill
Dress Code: Casual
Price point:
£ £ £ £ £

Availability

Available Offers
This offer has price variations on different days. View full details.
Description
Available Dates
This reservation cannot be modified online. Please contact the restaurant directly to update this reservation.
Edit / Cancel Reservation
Diners Review
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Sort By:
5 Stars:
58
4 Stars:
17
3 Stars:
7
2 Stars:
9
1 Star:
5
Visited On Saturday, 04 January 2020

Service was poor to be honest. I think the part of the restaurant we was sat in doesn’t get waited as much as the larger area in front of the restaurant when busy. Waited 30 mins before our drinks order came ( had to ask where they were) then took food order. We seemed to get served after others that came in after us? Which I don’t expect to be served fast but in a timely manor. However food was nice and we enjoyed it. Just the service and ambience that let the place down which is a shame. They did take the service charge off before fetching the bill which was fair. I wouldn’t have paid it, and normally I would or leave a tip.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for your feedback. I’m very sorry that we fell short of the standards we aim for. I can appreciate why you were disappointed. If you would like to contact us directly, we would be grateful for the opportunity to find out more about what happened. Please accept our apologies.

Responded On Monday, 06 January 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 01 January 2020

We were unable to visit as we received a call to say closing at 4 and needed to attend before 3, shouldn’t have accepted the booking if closed

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for your feedback. I’m very sorry that we fell short of the standards we aim for. I can appreciate why you were disappointed. If you would like to contact us directly, we would be grateful for the opportunity to find out more about what happened. Please accept our apologies.

Responded On Monday, 06 January 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 28 December 2019

Completely appalled by the service charge that is automatically added to the bill. We felt bad for the poor waitress who we tasked with having it removed from the bill. I don't expect to see service charges added to the bill in the UK. Customers behind and in front of us were also complaining about this. It will make us think twice about visiting again. Also, the chicken fajitas do not represent good value for money as there was a very small amount of chicken

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for your feedback. If you would like to contact us directly, we would be grateful for the opportunity to find out more about what happened. Please accept our apologies.

Responded On Monday, 06 January 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 17 December 2019

the christmas meal was lovely. it was hot and very tasty the staff were great and made it a good night thankyou

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

It is because of feedback like yours that we are able to confirm that we are heading in the right direction.

Responded On Friday, 27 December 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 20 December 2019

I could eat this again and again! It was simply beautiful and the buffalo wings are to die for! Would 100% recommend!!!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

We believe the only way for us to deliver first class products and experiences is by knowing what our customers love best and that can only be achieved through feedback like yours.

Responded On Saturday, 21 December 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 15 December 2019

Good service and tasty food, nice choice

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for your custom, our aim is that we always offer great food, drink and service and it is an early Christmas present for us to see that you loved your time at Coal.

Responded On Monday, 16 December 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 07 December 2019

Service was shocking - took 1 hour 55 minutes to eat. Food was mediocre and was was ruined through being over cooked. Ambience was down beat.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hello, We’re extremely sorry to hear about your experience with us. We strive to ensure a positive experience starting with great food. Rest assured we will address the matter internally, but we also want to make sure we have done everything in our hands to take care of you, Please email us directly at [email protected] with further details (e.g date of your visit) and a copy of your review so that we can be in touch. Kind Regards Coal Grill and Bar

Responded On Monday, 16 December 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Monday, 02 December 2019

a nice evening. i had booked for the christmas menu but it wasnt available but the manager sorted everything out and even gave us a discount. was very happy and the food was lovely.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for giving us a high five for all that we do. It is truly nice to know that you had great time at Coal.

Responded On Wednesday, 04 December 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 30 November 2019

Very poor food portions for how much it was. Staff all lovely

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi, we’re really sorry to hear that your experience wasn't what it should have been. We always strive to ensure a positive customer experience at Coal. We’d love to put things right. Please can you email [email protected] with further details (e.g. date of your visit or copy of receipt) and we will be in touch.

Responded On Wednesday, 04 December 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 23 November 2019

t This was our second visit in 2 weeks and to be honest a little disappointing, meal was lovely and our server was fabulous and very friendly. My husbands and Son in Laws meals came first by a different server (skewers), they were given someone else's meals which happened to be the same. As my Husbands skewers were already taken off skewer he was told to keep it, my son in laws was taken away. We then had to wait approx. 10 mins for the rest of our meals to arrive. These however did not arrive together either. I can't fault the meals or our server who was very apologetic and a lovely friendly young lady. I noticed (presumably the manageress on duty at the time) walked toward our table (not too close) took a look at my husband eating his meal (he had his back to her). She didn't seem impressed and walked away without saying a word to us. We are not people to complain as we understand mistakes are made, both my daughters worked in hospitality so are aware of this. This experience hasn't put us off going again, hopefully next time will be a better visit.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your detailed feedback. We are so sorry about the mix up with your meal and the impact it had on your meal experience with us, but happy to see that you enjoyed the service and the food. We hope all runs smoothly on your next visit to us.

Responded On Thursday, 19 December 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Wednesday, 20 November 2019

Never again, absolutely diabolical.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

We are sad to hear that you left disappointed. If we can be of any assistance then please do reach out to us directly at [email protected]

Responded On Thursday, 19 December 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 10 November 2019

Great good, nice to see some things on the menu that are a bit different from the norm, Firesticks very tasty! Lovely friendly staff too :)

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 09 November 2019

We had an excellent evening, first class service and delicious food.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Thanks for the great review. We are so glad to hear you had a superior experience when visiting Coal Grill and Bar.

Responded On Wednesday, 20 November 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 02 November 2019

Nice meal , nice service the waiter took of a extra 10% of the bill as my husbands plate was cracked

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Tuesday, 22 October 2019

Fantastic evening really enjoyed it will definitely be back

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 11 October 2019

1st time here, staff and food were exceptional,would definitely come again

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 11 October 2019

Amazing food and atmosphere!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 28 September 2019

The food was outstanding.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 27 September 2019

The lady who served us was brilliant. The chef got my order wrong and she made sure everything was ok and made sure I got what I ordered. She was so apologetic and it wasn’t her fault. Hats off to her for her customer service. She was so lovely.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 14 September 2019

Loved it! Food great. Staff lovely xx

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 06 September 2019

Good food and good service

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 01 September 2019

Food wasnt the best but it's the service we keep coming back for

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 30 August 2019

It is rare in this day and age that I have something bad to say about a restaurant with so many producing high quality meals. However, on arrival it took 10 minutes to be greeted by a member of staff despite us being the first in the queue and clean tables being spare. We decided to order the 2 for £9 cocktails which I was surprised to be served something that looked little more than an all inclusive throw together style drink. The food arrived and whilst the chimichanga was good, the Coal burger was burnt and dry along with lettuce with the stem and a sorry looking piece of tomato. I was also shocked to find a pre added on service charge to the bill. I will always tip and tip well if i feel a meal has been up to standard but I think that should be down to the judgement and choice of the customer, not a 15% service charge added on for 2 people. It was my first visit to Coal and unfortunately it is somewhere that I am likely to avoid in the future.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Thursday, 22 August 2019

We had a lovely meal here yesterday to celebrate a friend’s baby shower. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly and they gave us a free bottle of wine and a mocktail pitcher- what a kind gesture! Thankyou!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 09 June 2019

We have eaten here many times, the food is always spot on, the service is great. It's worth a visit for the Coal Mess alone.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Matthew, Thank you for your great words and we can't wait to have you back! Very best, Coal Customer Service

Responded On Monday, 17 June 2019
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money