- Disabled Access
- Private Dining
- Free WiFi
- Outdoor Seating
- Weddings and Other Private Parties Catered for
- Children's Menu available
- Buffets, Business Meetings, Functions catered for
About Captains Club Hotel
The Captain's Club Hotel is a luxury 4 star hotel situated on the banks of the River Stour, Christchurch, Dorset. The hotel has 29 bedrooms, bar, award winning restaurant and spa.
The Club Restaurant is an all-day dining experience serving relaxed, to fine dining dishes in a modern contemporary environment.
What happened to the Sunday lunchtime live music???
Always great food and very friendly staff, been several times, can't fault the place.
Fantastic weekend, staff, food and drinks all great cannot fault it, 2nd stay of the year cannot wait for our next visit. Thanks to everyone.
Lovely evening - thank you.
Lovely afternoon tea
8 of us came for afternoon tea on Sunday to celebrate our colleague’s upcoming wedding. It was such a special treat and we couldn’t have asked for anything more! The food was delicious, the surroundings were lovely, and the service was second to none. A few of the party had not visited before and commented that they would definitely return. Thank you Captains Club for a wonderful experience! X
The service was poor, we had to ask for dinks at the table, then a second time for them to be brought to the table, at the time only three tabes were occupied. Food wise we were not offered the house special(s), The "pink' lamb was well done. The background noise from a band two rooms away made conversation a challenge. For my guests who had a round trip of 140 miles this was not a Sunday lunch by the river I had planned.
Great service Great food
Food and staff were excellent as usual but it was rather noisy.
Visited for an afternoon tea that was a birthday gift. Excellent service and excellent food, very pleasant indeed
Wonderful food in beautiful surroundings!.
The Roast beef was great, as was the chocolate dessert and the duck. When taking an order for the lamb, may I suggest that the gust be asked if they want it well cooked, or pink. Our guest's lamb was returned twice! disappointing. Everyone enjoyed their desserts. Also disappointed that you are not serving a Sunday Lunch menu, each with three/.four dishes for each course. The a la carte choice is so expensive. This was out third visit in 7 days! Although very busy, the service was good, as usual!
Waters were all charming and efficient.
We had a lovely evening, the service and food were amazing. Everyone was very polite and attentive. Personally I found the restaurant, lacking in atmosphere, I am sure it would be better in the spring/summer with the views across the river. The many reason for our disappointment, and the reason we will not be returning, is your car parking policy. I do not expect to have to pay for car parking, and then worry if I have put enough money in, when I am eating at a lovely restaurant. The weather was awful, my friend ended up getting wet twice, just to pay. PS. Given that we are under pressure to save our plant, please loose the outside heaters! Just get real. Many thanks for the meal the food was absolutely excellent. Lisa
We do feel that parking should be free if Dining at least.
We have enjoyed staying at The Captains Club for a number of years now and eaten in the restaurant many times . We have always had 5 star service .
Dear Miss Dillon, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you have, and continue to enjoy your experiences with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here at the Captains Club Hotel soon. Kind regards, Sam
First time visit. Such a lovely hotel. The staff were superb. Polite, smiley, attentive, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They treated you, as I imagined, they would want to be treated themselves. Good value for money. So clean. Lovely spa, helpful friendly staff. Would highly recommend and definitely visit again
Dear Mr O'Sullivan, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here at the Captains Club Hotel soon. Kind regards, Sam
Celebrating my wife’s birthday with friends and family , the welcome we received was very special the room and view was perfect , we had pre dinner drinks by the fireplace and the bar manager and staff were very attentive and nothing too much trouble . This was followed by a wonderful meal in the restaurant, so a perfect place for a special occasion.
Dear Mr Tokely, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here at the Captains Club Hotel soon. Kind regards, Sam
We had a lovely meal - but the edge was taken off our enjoyment by the introduction of parking fees. We understand that you need to discourage casual parking, but one does not expect to pay for parking at a hotel or restaurant where parking is in a private car park. It left a sour taste which was a shame. If guests are staying, eating or otherwise using the facilities and thus contributing to revenue, parking should be free.
A really nice lunch with special service and attention. We are hoping to move to the area in the near future so will look to spend more of our time at the Captains Club. Thank you. Gail and Tony Stacey
Dear Mr and Mrs Stacey, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch experience with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here at the Captains Club Hotel soon. Kind regards, Sam
it's always a very pleasent hotel to vist for comfort and atmosphere
Dear Mr Bennett, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here at the Captains Club Hotel soon. Kind regards, Sam
A big thank you for making my best friends Baby shower 💞such a success. Your hospitality was exceptional and I can’t thank you enough for being so flexible with my my bad hick up of timings. Every single member of staff were incredible, delivering excellent customer service, I can’t fault in any way.a special thanks to the lovely Ellie xx we will definitely be back !
Dear Helen, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your baby shower experience with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here at the Captains Club Hotel soon. Kind regards, Sam
Very disappointed in being given the wrong wine, we arrived early and waitress wasn't rushed, I asked her how this mistake could happen when she had written our order down and she said she didn't know. We drank the bottle trusting that it was what we ordered but were disappointed in the taste and when we looked at the bottle at the end, it was South African and we had ordered Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough Newzealand.
Have had the pleasure to visit the Captain’s club many times before, as living locally and we have always had a very enjoyable meal. This time however was a totally different experience. We had a very good, attentive waitress until 9, when her shift finished then were basically ignored for the rest of the night. Having to ask for our drinks three times before they arrived, the table not being cleared properly, not being asked if we wanted to see the desserts menu etc. They then had the cheek to add 10% service charge to the bill before checking if everything was ok. We fed our views to the young waiter that brought our bill, he took it away to come back a short time later with the charge removed & the managers apologies. No senior person took the time to talk to us about our concerns, just left the front of house staff to take the flack. Needless to say we were left feeling very disappointed with the visit because of this. The Captain’s Club can do so much better than this!!!