Cairndale Hotel

132-136 English Street , Dumfries, Dumfrieshire , Scotland, United Kingdom, DG1 2DF
Restaurant info
Opening Information

Dome Dining Thursday - Sunday (12pm-8pm)
Drinks and The Winter Garden Thursday & Friday 5pm -10:30pm
Saturday 12-10:30pm
Sunday 12-10:30pm

Facilities
  • Disabled Access
  • Private Dining
  • Free WiFi
Menus

About Cairndale Hotel

The Winter Garden brings Dumfries the freshest winter cocktails, spiced mulled wine and cider combined with hand picked wines, prosecco and champagne! Wrap up and nestle down under our heaters to enjoy a relaxed warm evening!

Cuisine: Cocktails
Dress Code: Smart Casual
Price point:
£ £ £ £ £

Availability

Available Offers
This offer has price variations on different days. View full details.
Description
Available Dates
This reservation cannot be modified online. Please contact the restaurant directly to update this reservation.
Edit / Cancel Reservation
Diners Review
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
Sort By:
5 Stars:
15
4 Stars:
2
3 Stars:
1
2 Stars:
1
1 Star:
0
Visited On Sunday, 29 November 2020

Stood waiting for about 10 minutes to be seated, my partner went inside the hotel to highlight this to them. They then came and sat us right at the door where it was cold and there was plenty of warmer seats available, it was a Sunday night so not busy. We took it upon ourselves to move to a warmer seat. Not overly impressed to be honest.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Danielle, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are very sorry to read of your experience as you can see it is completely unlike any other experience received by anyone else so far. We were actually very busy for a Sunday with over 100 people booked in for fresh cocktails and drinks! We are glad to see that you rated our drinks so highly! There is usually a team member at the front and two or three waitresses out delivering drinks and we also had two domes on the go at 6pm - 8pm so there were certainly team members around. I find it highly surprising, dare I say unlikely that you would wait 10 minutes. Not to mention we have CCTV that shows how long you “stood waiting” for 🙈 We are glad you managed to find a nice warm table under our infared heaters and gas heaters and had use of warm blankets! Unfortunately being an outdoor venue we cannot always ensure every square inch of the marquee is toasty and warm but then again, we are outdoors. We hope you have a more positive week ahead! Best wishes, The Winter Garden [email protected]

Responded On Monday, 30 November 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 29 November 2020

Very accommodating been twice now and both times were very pleasant. Matty and the rest of the staff go the extra mile they are all a credit to the team See you guys soon Rob patterson

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 28 November 2020

Fantastic service, extremely friendly staff

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 28 November 2020

Me and my friend booked here for yesterday afternoon, was a lovely experience and so comfortable. We were able to stay a bit longer due to cancellations which was great. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough! Will definitely visit again ☺

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Jodie, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback! It was brilliant to meet you and so glad you enjoyed your visit! Looking forward to welcoming you again soon! Until then, stay well and have a great Sunday evening! Best wishes, The Winter Garden Team

Responded On Sunday, 29 November 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 27 November 2020

Had a great night!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Jennifer, Thank you so much for joining us and leaving your feedback also! It was a pleasure to welcome you and I hope it is not too long before we see you again! Have a brilliant weekend! Best wishes, The Winter Garden Team

Responded On Sunday, 29 November 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 27 November 2020

Overall I think the whole idea is lovely, however the drinks took a long time to come which is frustrating when you are on a limited time frame. We ended up ordering 2 drinks at a time and then ordering again before we were even close to finishing our round to ensure we actually got a few drinks before we had to leave. Also would have been nice for the guy to wait for us to have had a seat for more than 5 minutes before reminding us what time we were to leave! Cocktails were good but not as much choice as what was on offer in the summer. Asked the girl serving drinks to ask about an after eight cocktail we saw on social media, she didn’t bother and we had to go into the bar and ask ourselves. Turns out the cocktail advertised wasn’t available which was a bit disappointing.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Ann-Marie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Our system time stamps when drinks are ordered and when they are delivered. We are pleased that nobody waited longer than 12 minutes for drinks on Friday night and pleased to report that the average waiting time was 7 minutes. You had your reservation for 1 hour and 50 minutes. Our team are always very courteous when informing guests of their departure time. This seems like something we just can't win... someone will complain if we inform them half an hour before, some will complain such as this when they arrive. We can't win on this one I'm afraid. After many guests wilfully ignoring the departure times we feel it important that everyone is aware to avoid any potential disappointment or confusion towards the end of their visit. The vast, vast majority of people have no issue with this. We have 11 Festive cocktails on the menu. With more to be added in December. Our menu should come as no surprise as it is published on our website through which you booked. In addition to the menu we had in the summer we have added Ninefold Rum with 4 unique coke mixers. We also have 5 new Gins on offer, increased our wine list and we have 8 beers on available. We sincerely apologise if this is not adequate and wish you would have asked one of our team who could have tailor made a drink to your liking. In regards to our Christmas cocktail which was published on Facebook it clearly details that this cocktail is part of our Black Friday offer that runs in December and that the After8 Martini cocktail is available with Dome bookings. We never advertised it as available until December and the offer was posted online just a couple of hours before you joined us. Thank you again for sending us your feedback and may we wish you a nice weekend! The Winter Garden

Responded On Sunday, 29 November 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Friday, 27 November 2020

Brilliant night at the Domes and then in the Secret Garden afterwards. Level of service from staff was faultless and the whole experience was brilliant. The food and drink were really good too. Well done guys, just what Dumfries needs! Just need more Domes to get back in again soon!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Jill, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your visit! It was such a pleasure to welcome you and your party to The Winter Garden and of course The Winter Domes! We are so glad that you enjoyed it and rest assured we will pass on your kind words onto the team! It is very much appreciated! Have a great weekend and hopefully we will see you again soon! Best wishes, The Winter Garden Team

Responded On Sunday, 29 November 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 22 November 2020

I have been Twice to the Winter garden and have been very impressed. Service was great!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 21 November 2020

I was driving and the manager actually specially organised mocktails for me as there wasn’t any on the menu. And because I had a little wait for them as it was so busy and these were special drinks not on the menu, I actually got given 2 FOC. Honestly, the customer service was incredible and it is definitely what Dumfries is needing at this rubbish time. We also thought it would be really cold with being the middle of winter but I could of easily removed my coat because it was so warm with all the heating. Couldn’t fault a thing. Thank you so much.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 21 November 2020

Another most enjoyable afternoon very well organised very attentive polite friendly staff. Well done and thank you for providing something a little different in these difficult times. Oh and the cocktails are amazing 👍

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 21 November 2020

Very well organised and attentive staff. Great to have an experience like this to brighten up what is a tough time for everyone. Can’t wait to be back!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 21 November 2020

Lovely atmosphere in the tent with comfy seating and heating. Great selection of christmas themed drinks and staff are 10/10! Booked in again for next weekend and have booked a dome for December. Cant wait to return!

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 21 November 2020

Can’t fault it. It was quiet when we were in as it was early in the day but we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The staff were attentive and friendly and the cocktails were delicious. We will definitely be back. Thank you for bringing something refreshing and new to Dumfries.

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 15 November 2020

Winter dome was fab

Reviewed On
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 15 November 2020

Great drinks and excellent service, very comfy couches and the heaters take the chill out of the cold winter air!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Louise, It is always a pleasure to welcome you! We were so glad to see you enjoying The Winter Garden as much as The Secret Garden! We can't wait to welcome you back and we'll make sure to keep a nice bottle of The Palm by Whispering Angel chilled for you!! Have a great week and thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback! Best wishes, Matthew The Winter Garden

Responded On Tuesday, 17 November 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Sunday, 15 November 2020

Loved our afternoon at the Secret Garden. Very relaxing, lovely atmosphere and attentive staff. Absolutely going again!

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Dear Angela, It is always a pleasure to welcome you and can't wait to see you again next time! Thank you for your very kind words and for taking the time to leave your feedback! Best wishes, Matthew The Winter Garden

Responded On Tuesday, 17 November 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 14 November 2020

Fantastic night, great atmosphere and delicious cocktails

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Claire, Thank you so much for joining us for our opening weekend! We were delighted to have you with us! Thank you also for taking the time to leave your review. Rest assured I have already passed on your kind words to the team, it’s very much appreciated!! Have a great week ahead and we look forward to seeing you again soon! The Winter Garden

Responded On Monday, 16 November 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 14 November 2020

Just what the town needs for the Christmas season, can’t wait to try out a dome. Was cosy, no need for my jacket and I’ll definitely be back.

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Helen, Thank you so much for taking the time out to leave us your feedback, it is really appreciated! We couldn’t believe the forecast for our opening weekend.. typical Scottish weather!! We are so glad that you were warm as this was one of our biggest concerns and we’re glad that it all worked out! Thank you for your very kind words towards our staff, I have passed these on to the team! Wishing you a brilliant week ahead from all of us at The Winter Garden!

Responded On Monday, 16 November 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money
Visited On Saturday, 14 November 2020

Such a lovely experience, despite the weather i felt very comfortable. Staff were so friendly & accommodating. I will definitely be back

Reviewed On
Restaurant Response

Hi Clare, Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review! We’re so glad you enjoyed your visit and can’t wait to welcome you back soon! I have passed on your kind words to the team and it is very much appreciated! Have a great week! Best wishes, The Winter Garden Team

Responded On Monday, 16 November 2020
Please enter a reason for Reporting this Review:
How likely would you be to recommend us to a friend or colleague?
Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value for Money